Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge

Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge Stage 4: Adrien Van Beveren claims another win.

Monster Energy Yamaha Rally Team’s Adrien Van Beveren has raced to an impressive victory on the penultimate stage of the 2021 Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge.

The Frenchman’s second stage win of the event highlights his exceptional form throughout the rally so far and with just one day of racing to go, he now lies less than five minutes behind the provisional leader.

The penultimate stage of the Abu Dhabi desert challenge once again provided a physically demanding test for all riders. Opening with rolling sand dunes, the terrain then switched to fast, desert tracks to ultimately offer a much more diverse stage compared to previous days of the event.

Returning to the form that brought him so much success in the past, Adrien Van Beveren has claimed another stage win at the Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge aboard his Yamaha WR450F Rally. Demonstrating excellent navigation, and confident to push hard throughout the mixed terrain stage, the 30-year-old sustained his high pace to secure victory and maintain his third-place ranking in the overall provisional classification

Tomorrow brings the fifth and final stage of the Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge. Providing the shortest special stage of the event at 216.92 kilometres, it will be a sprint to the finish line in Al Fathiyeh with Adrien Van Beveren well on course for top-three overall result.

"Today was another good day for me. I pushed really hard early on before the refuelling station as it was really heavy sand dunes so I was able to follow some lines and maintain a high pace. After refuelling the terrain was a lot less challenging and quite fast and with everyone riding at a similar speed, it wasn’t possible to make up more time. One more day to go and I’ll be fighting right to the end."

Adrien Van Beveren – Monster Energy Yamaha Rally Team

Race results: Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge 2021

Stage 4 Provisional Classification:
1. Adrien Van Beveren (Yamaha) 3:10:02
2. Matthias Walkner (KTM) 3:10:56 + 0:00:54
3. Joaquim Rodrigues (Hero) 3:13:00 + 0:02:58
4. Daniel Sanders (GASGAS) 3:13:48 + 0:03:46
5. Aaron Mare (KTM) 3:21:30 + 0:11:28
6. Ross Branch (Yamaha) 3:26:37 + 0:16:35

Overall Provisional Classification (after stage 4):
1. Matthias Walkner (KTM) 15:05:20
2. Daniel Sanders (GASGAS) 15:09:10 + 0:03:50
3. Adrien Van Beveren (Yamaha) 15:10:06 + 0:04:46
4. Joaquim Rodrigues (Hero) 15:33:53 + 0:28:33
5. Aaron Mare (KTM) 16:42:30 + 1:16:16
6. Konrad Dabrowski (KTM) 17:37:40 + 2:37:19