Thor Race Report

Thor Race report: Gruelling Lommel MXP puts riders to the test.

Sweltering conditions and the toughest sand track in the world saw a strong crowd turn out for round 15 of the FIM MXGP series in Lommel Belgium. Thor riders Desalle, Lieber, Bobryshev and Tixier were also excited to wear the THOR 2019 range with the KRT riders choosing for Pulse and the BOS boys for the Prime Pro.

Desalle scored a 10-8 result managing to maintain his 3rd in the championship standings. The Belgian did not want to take any risks on the treacherous circuit and only lost 4 points to Gajser. One consolation if any was that Desalle was announced as the spearhead of Team Belgium for the upcoming motocross of Nations in Red Bud on the 7 of October.

Fellow Team-mate Julien Lieber also struggled in the sand with 12th being his best result in moto 2.

Both Tixier and Bobryshev put in solid performances with the latter gritting his teeth to secure 10th in the second moto of the day. Tixier’s first moto 12th position was a solid ride after the Frenchman was placed in the Top 10 for part of the race.

With a well deserved weeks rest riders and teams will head to Switzerland for round 16 to be held in Frauenfeld on the 18-19 August.

Race results:

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 35:45.618;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:13.091;
3. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:51.594;
4. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), +1:04.034;
5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +1:11.944;
6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +1:19.765;
7. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +1:27.384;
8. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +1:38.816;
9. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), +1:49.886;
10. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +1:59.284.

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 35:34.847;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:33.050;
3. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:47.722;
4. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), +0:54.030;
5. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +1:15.523;
6. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +1:35.515;
7. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +1:44.319;
8. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +2:13.053;
9. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), -1 lap(s);
10. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Suzuki), -1 lap(s).

MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 50 points;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 44 p.;
3. Max Anstie (GBR, HUS), 36 p.;
4. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 36 p.;
5. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 35 p.;
6. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 31 p.;
7. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 28 p.;
8. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 25 p.;
9. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 24 p.;
10. Shaun Simpson (GBR, YAM), 20 p.

MXGP Championship Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 683 points;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 647 p.;
3. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 503 p.;
4. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 478 p.;
5. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 468 p.;
6. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 435 p.;
7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 388 p.;
8. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 350 p.;
9. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 337 p.;
10. Max Anstie (GBR, HUS), 267 p.