Thor Race Report

THOR RACE REPORT: WW Motocross Park in Jacksonville hosts USA MXGP

Round 17 of the FIM MXGP series saw hot and humid conditions take their toll on man and machine at the WW Motocross Park in Jacksonville Florida. THOR’s MXGP rookie, MAX Anstie, turned a dismal qualification race around after having being carted off by the medical staff. Anstie rebounded on Sunday and posted a 6-6 score for 5th overall with track conditions having improved immensely after downpours on Friday and Saturday morning. Teammate Max Nagl was neck and neck for the holeshot in moto 1 alongside Eli Tomac and soldiered on to a 5thplace finish. A lesser start in moto 2 had the German 11th which was enough for 6th overall on the day.

Challenging for a 3rd in the championship standings, Clement Desalle battled to come to terms with the heat and salvaged 7th overall with 9-8 scores. With 2 rounds to go he sits in 4th in the standings trailing Gautier Paulin by 1 point.

Jordi Tixier returned to racing after an injury lay off and was lucky to escape a massive crash where he mangled his machine in the second moto.

The series returns to Europe to the notorious Assen TT circuit for the penultimate round which takes place on the 9-10 September.

Race results:

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:
1. Eli Tomac (USA, Kawasaki), 35:45.724;
2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:28.267;
3. AntonioCairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:36.781;
4. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:44.426;
5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:50.234;
6. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), +0:55.850;
7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:58.113;
8. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +1:03.577;
9. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +1:05.334;
10. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +1:14.770.

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 35:50.247;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:15.990;
3. Eli Tomac (USA, Kawasaki), +0:29.282;
4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Husqvarna), +0:37.540;
5. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:41.951;
6. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), +0:47.523;
7. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:52.404;
8. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +1:00.454;
9. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +1:06.688;
10. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +1:13.118.

MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 47 points;
2. Eli Tomac (USA, KAW), 45 p.;
3. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 42 p.;
4. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 32 p.;
5. Max Anstie (GBR, HUS), 30 p.;
6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 26 p.;
7. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 25 p.;
8. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 25 p.;
9. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 23 p.;
10. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 22 p.

MXGP Championship Top Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 673 points;
2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 577 p.;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 545 p.;
4. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 544 p.;
5. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 485 p.;
6. RomainFebvre (FRA, YAM), 441 p.;
7. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 400 p.;
8. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 390 p.;
9. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 377 p.;
10. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 366 p.