Thor Race Report


Thor’s Clement Desalle achieved a convincing victory at the jam packed French MXGP in Ernee this weekend. The Belgian already set the scene on board his factory Monster Energy Kawasaki when won the Saturday qualification race.  A small get off in moto one kept ‘The Panda’ just off a podium spot but he returned with vengeance in the second moto. Desalle claimed the lead from Cairoli on the second lap and then controlled the race to the checkered flag to take his first overall victory of the season.

Trading moto victories with Desalle was Thor’s Max Nagl. The German grabbed one of his signature lightening starts in moto 1 and pretty much checked out from there. He never put a foot wrong and rocketed to a smooth first moto victory. A little crash in moto 2 while still in the hunt for the overall dashed hopes of a podium as he ended up 9th.

Max Anstie’s 9-11 score handed him 10th overall for the GP which was commendable after the gritty Britt tweaked his wrist on Saturday but rebounded for 2 strong rides in a tough MXGP class.

Unfortunately for Jordi Tixier, he would have wanted a better result at his home GP. Still battling with injury Tixier soldiered on to 15-18 results. The former MX2 world champ has the speed to contend with the world’s best but his recent groin injury will take some time to heal before he can show his true potential.

Next up on the calendar will be the GP of Russia to be held on the coastal circuit of Orlyonok in two weekstime.

Race results:

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:
1. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), 35:35.189;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:06.733;
3. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:08.460;
4. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:09.028;
5. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:10.996;
6. Gautier Paulin(FRA, Husqvarna), +0:18.286;
7. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:30.885;
8. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:35.172;
9. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), +0:41.628;
10. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Suzuki), +0:46.421.

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), 35:08.044;
2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Husqvarna), +0:02.439;
3. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:08.169;
4. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:11.832;
5. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:17.245;
6. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:22.475;
7. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:42.570;
8. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:48.221;
9. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:57.579;
10. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), +1:06.009;

MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 43 points;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 42 p.;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 37 p.;
4. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 37 p.;
5. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 35 p.;
6. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 32 p.;
7. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 32 p.;
8. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 27 p.;
9. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 23 p.;
10. Max Anstie (GBR, HUS), 22 p.;

MXGP Championship Top Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 347 points;
2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 297 p.;
3. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 289 p.;
4. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 261 p.;
5. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 261 p.;
6. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 253 p.;
7. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 214 p.;
8. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 209 p.;
9. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 200 p.;
10. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 176 p;