THOR Race Report


The final round of the 2015 MXGP season came to an end at a scorching hot Glen Helen raceway in the USA.

The event was an emotional occasion for Tyla Rattray, who had already announced several weeks ago that this would be the final race of his long, successful professional career. Unfortunately the bad luck, which has dogged him for so much of theseason, continued in race one as he was the innocent victim of a first turncollision. Rejoining the race in a lowly twenty-sixth position, he persevered to snatch four more championship points, and ended his career with a twelfth place in race two after advancing from an initial sixteenth. At the end of a turbulent season he was ranked thirteenth despite missing several races through injury.

A championship that during the first nine rounds delivered so much for Red Bull IceOne Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Max Nagl, the season closing GP of USA frustratingly ended with little reward for the German. Forced to retire from the opening moto, a crash damaged bike then forced Nagl to be out of the second moto.

Making his debut MXGP outing Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing's Jason Anderson earned a highly positive fourth place finish in moto one. Making his first competitive outing on Husqvarna’s 2016 FC 450, Anderson started the moto outside the top 10 before steadily working his way forward to secure a strong fourth place result. The American was forced to retire while running fifth in moto two.


Petar Petrov of the Monster Energy Kawasaki MX2 Racing Team was inevitably handicapped by a neck injury sustained one week earlier in Mexico, but the tough Bulgarian persevered through the pain to finish both motos and the GP in eleventh position to retain tenth place in the final championship standings.

US teenager Thomas Covington had a disappointing home GP one week after hissensational victory in Mexico. He was advancing rapidly through the pack inrace one to hold seventh place until a mistake put him downfield to twelfth. A top three start in race two gave high hopes of another podium result to end the season, but a collision further round the opening lap left him a long way back in nineteenth position. He eventually crossed the line seventeenth for thirteenth overall in the GP and twelfth place in the final series standings.

Wild card rider Chris Alldredge of Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki secured an impressive second place in the opening moto but was delayed by a crash on the opening lap of race two and finished thirteenth. The young American wassixth overall in the GP.

Race results:


MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:

1. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), 35:54.457;
2. Cooper Webb (USA, Yamaha), +0:00.724;
3. Josh Grant (USA, Kawasaki), +0:23.369;
4. Jason Anderson (USA, Husqvarna), +0:34.642;
5. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:38.012;
6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, Suzuki), +0:39.495;
7. Dean Wilson (GBR, KTM), +0:41.977;
8. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Honda), +0:48.001;
9. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:55.692;
10. Marvin Musquin (FRA, KTM), +0:58.982

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:

1. Josh Grant (USA, Kawasaki), 36:17.374;
2. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:12.621;
3. Cooper Webb (USA, Yamaha), +0:17.132;
4. Dean Wilson (GBR, KTM), +0:18.260;
5. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:45.661;
6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, Suzuki), +0:51.367;
7. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:57.887;
8. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Honda), +1:03.920;
9. Tommy Searle (GBR, KTM), +1:07.744;
10. Davi Millsaps (USA, KTM), +1:11.790

MXGP Overall Top Ten:

1. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 47 points;
2. JoshGrant (USA, KAW), 45 p.;
3. Cooper Webb (USA, YAM), 42 p.;
4. Dean Wilson (GBR, KTM), 32 p.;
5. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, SUZ), 30 p.;
6. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 28 p.;
7. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HON), 26 p.;
8. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 23 p.;
9. Tommy Searle (GBR, KTM), 20 p.;
10. Jason Anderson (USA, HUS), 18 p.

MXGP Championship Top Ten:

1. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 735 points;
2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HON), 592 p.;
3. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 567 p.;
4. ShaunSimpson (GBR, KTM), 481 p.;
5. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 449 p.;
6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 442 p.;
7. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 432 p.;
8. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, SUZ), 423 p.;
9. Todd Waters (AUS, HUS), 354 p.;
10. Clement Desalle (BEL, SUZ), 331 p.


MX2 Race 1 Top Ten:

1. Jessy Nelson (USA, KTM), 36:33.129;
2. Chris Alldredge (USA, Kawasaki), +0:12.857;
3. Shane McElrath (USA, KTM), +0:18.589;
4. Max Anstie (GBR,Kawasaki), +0:21.210;
5. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Yamaha), +0:21.307;
6. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:34.359;
7. Harri Kullas (FIN, Husqvarna), +0:38.327;
8. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Suzuki), +0:39.762;
9. Julien Lieber (BEL, Yamaha), +0:50.881;
10. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), +0:54.438

MX2 Race 2 Top Ten:

1. Jessy Nelson (USA, KTM), 36:37.196;
2. ShaneMcElrath (USA, KTM), +0:05.211;
3. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Yamaha), +0:32.327;
4. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:36.227;
5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Suzuki), +0:40.646;
6. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), +0:50.515;
7. Harri Kullas (FIN, Husqvarna), +0:52.303;
8. Max Anstie (GBR, Kawasaki), +1:06.400;
9. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Yamaha), +1:09.669;
10. Ivo Monticelli (ITA, KTM), +1:51.141

MX2 Overall Top Ten:

1. Jessy Nelson (USA, KTM), 50 points;
2. ShaneMcElrath (USA, KTM), 42 p.;
3. Valentin Guillod (SUI, YAM), 36 p.;
4. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 33 p.;
5. Max Anstie (GBR, KAW), 31 p.;
6. Chris Alldredge (USA, KAW), 30 p.;
7. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 29 p.;
8. Harri Kullas (FIN, HUS), 28 p.;
9. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), 26 p.;
10. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 20 p.

MX2 Championship Top Ten:

1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 589 points;
2. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), 564 p.;
3. Max Anstie (GBR, KAW), 537 p.;
4. Valentin Guillod (SUI, YAM), 511 p.;
5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 496 p.;
6. Julien Lieber (BEL, YAM), 430 p.;
7. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 423 p.;
8. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KAW), 393 p.;
9. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 376 p.;
10. Petar Petrov (BUL, KAW), 324 p.