Thor Race Report


Clement Desalle took a giant step in his recovery from pre-season injury when he finished third overall in the GP of Lombardy at Mantova in northern Italy, while Jordi Tixier nearly missed the top ten.

The 27 year old Belgian had persevered through injury during the early rounds of the series and has been consistently building his speed during the last month as he shrugs off the early season handicap.

The gritty Belgian dug deep to move up the leaderboard through the first moto, run in stifling heat, to cross the line in second, less than five seconds down on the race-long leader. Race two proved more difficult but he persevered from a seventh placed start to snatch fourth by half distance and secure third overall in the GP.

Teammate Jordi Tixier, rarely at home in extremely hot weather, displayed great resolve to make the best out of the situation and he was rewarded with eleventh overall from eleventh and tenthplaced moto finishes. He showed particularly great spirit in race two when he maintained his position to the finish despite stomach cramps during the final ten minutes.
For Max Nagl a series of mistakes in moto two frustratingly prevented the German from hunting for his sixth podium result of the season.
Despite not getting a perfect jump out of the gate in the opening moto Nagl emerged second out of the first corner. Following race leader Tim Gajser for the greatest part of therace he lost two positions in the last four laps to finish fourth. Getting a bad start in moto two he was forced to push hard, suffering three small crashes. He crossed the line in 16th for 10th overall.

Once again showing he has the speed to battle for the top 10 in MXGP, Nagl’s teammate Christophe Charlier was unable to get the starts that he wanted in either of the two motos. TheFrenchman wrapped up the weekend with 14/12 results for 12th overall.

Race results:

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 35:01.739;
2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:04.460;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Honda), +0:07.423;
4. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:11.147;
5. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:16.639;
6. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:25.874;
7. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:33.524;
8. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:38.665;
9. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Yamaha), +0:44.531;
10. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), +0:48.997.

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 35:17.922;
2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Honda), +0:09.544;
3. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:17.480;
4. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:25.145;
5. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:33.911;
6. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:37.557;
7. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:38.142;
8. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Yamaha), +0:54.421;
9. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), +0:59.148;
10. Jordi Tixier (FRA, Kawasaki), +1:02.868.

MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 50 points;
2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HON), 42 p.;
3. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 40 p.;
4. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 35 p.;
5. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 30 p.;
6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 29 p.;
7. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 29 p.;
8. Valentin Guillod (SUI, YAM), 25 p.;
9. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), 23 p.;
10. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 23 p.

MXGP Championship Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 532 points;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 440 p.;
3. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 408 p.;
4. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 401 p.;
5. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 396 p.;
6. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 351 p.;
7. Valentin Guillod (SUI, YAM), 267 p.;
8. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 230 p.;
9. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 212 p.;
10. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 210 p.