Thor Race Report

THOR RACE REPORT:  NAGL narrowly misses podium at home GP

Racing in front of his home crowd, Rockstar Energy Husqvarna FactoryRacing’s Max Nagl wrapped up round seven of the Motocross World Championship with fourth overall at the GP of Germany.
Suffering with illness since the beginning of the week, Nagl had to dig deep in both MXGP motos.
Getting a great jump out of the gate he raced a strong first moto tocross the line in third place.
Again starting well in the second moto, Nagl battled for a place on the overall podium but saw his chances of a top three result ended when he lost the front end of his Husqvarna in a slow-speed corner.
Quickly picking himself up and regrouping he crossed the finish linesixth. Earning the same amount of points as eventual third placed rider Evgeny Bobryshev, Nagl secured fourth overall due to a lower moto two result.
For Nagl’s MXGP teammate Christophe Charlier the GP of Germany was further proof the Frenchman has the speed to fight for top honours in the class. Blasting his way to a perfect start in MXGP’s moto one, Christophe was first into the first corner but made a small mistake, which allowed Tony Cairoli to officially claim the holeshot.
Holding on to second position for the first four laps, Charlier rode a smart race to cross the line in a strong fourth.
Not letting a first corner crash ruin his second moto he battled hard from last to cross the line in 13th position.
Clement Desalle of the Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Team completed only two laps during the opening practice session in before deciding that the shoulder injury sustained one week earlier in Latvia was too painful to endure a full weekend of racing. Teammate Jordi Tixier has now been riding again for three weeks and expects to return to GP next weekend at the GP of Italy.

Race results:

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 35:21.882;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:04.991;
3. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:12.252;
4. Christophe Charlier (FRA, Husqvarna), +0:16.655;
5. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:26.742;
6. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:28.779;
7. Ben Townley (NZL, Suzuki), +0:42.598;
8. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:49.103;
9. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:51.085;
10. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +1:01.916.

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 33:52.905;
2. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:02.783;
3. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:03.349;
4. Tim Gajser(SLO, Honda), +0:19.696;
5. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Yamaha), +0:22.314;
6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:25.657;
7. Ben Townley (NZL, Suzuki), +0:29.384;
8. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:31.077;
9. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:33.268;
10. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:44.820.

MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 50 points;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 40 p.;
3. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 35 p.;
4. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 35 p.;
5. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 31 p.;
6. Ben Townley (NZL, SUZ), 28 p.;
7. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, SUZ), 27 p.;
8. Christophe Charlier (FRA, HUS), 26 p.;
9. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 25 p.;
10. Valentin Guillod (SUI, YAM), 23 p.

MXGP Championship Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 299 points;
2. RomainFebvre (FRA, YAM), 291 p.;
3. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 263 p.;
4. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 238 p.;
5. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 232 p.;
6. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 215 p.;
7. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, SUZ), 169 p.;
8. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 168 p.;
9. Valentin Guillod (SUI, YAM), 139 p.;
10. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 136 p.