Thor Race Report


For Max Nagl the GP of Latvia was one of mixed fortunes

For Max Nagl the GP of Latvia was one of mixed fortunes. Capitalising on a great start in the opening MXGP moto the Rockstar energy Husqvarna Factory Racing rider found himself in the battle for the top three.
Making a decisive pass on Tony Cairoli for second three laps before the end, the German went on to hunt down race leader Tim Gajser but run out of time and crossed the line as runner-up.
Nagl lined up for moto two knowing that he had the speed to battle for his first overall win of the season.
He powered his FC 450 to the holeshot and was racing in third beforeseeing Tim Gajser crash in front of him.
Unable to avoid the stricken bike ahead of him Nagl also crashed and had to resume the race in 13th position. Unwilling to give up he reached the finish in fifth for fifth overall at the GP of Latvia.
Still working his way back to full fitness Nagl’s teammate Christophe Charlier showed impressive speed around the sandy track. The Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing MXGP rider got two great starts in both motos and found himself battling inside the top six for many laps before settling for two eighth place finishes.
Rounding out the GP in seventh overall Charlier proved he’s gradually getting closer to the top six in MXGP.
It was very frustrating weekend in Latvia for Clement Desalle and the Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Team, as the Belgian rider could only score three points in Kegums. For sure the new, young and proud father will find at home some comfort with Emma, born just a few days before the sixth round of the FIM Motocross World Championship

At the same time Jordi Tixier was behind a starting gate for the first time this year, in an International event in St Austreberthe in Normandy. It was verysuccessful training day for Jordi, who won the three motos.

Race results:

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 33:55.987;
2. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:01.545;
3. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:05.654;
4. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:10.263;
5. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:15.166;
6. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:32.318;
7. Ben Townley (NZL, Suzuki), +0:51.441;
8. Christophe Charlier (FRA, Husqvarna), +0:58.559;
9. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +1:10.768;
10. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +1:14.646.

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), 34:06.040;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:12.420;
3. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:18.547;
4. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:24.293;
5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:25.970;
6. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:38.669;
7. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:42.406;
8. Christophe Charlier (FRA, Husqvarna), +0:47.558;
9. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +1:04.696;
10. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Yamaha), +1:07.333.

MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 43 points;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 42 p.;
3. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 41 p.;
4. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 38 p.;
5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 38 p.;
6. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 27 p.;
7. Christophe Charlier (FRA, HUS), 26 p.;
8. Ben Townley (NZL, SUZ), 22 p.;
9. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 21 p.;
10. Milko Potisek (FRA, YAM), 20 p.

MXGP Championship Top Ten:
1. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 260 points;
2. TimGajser (SLO, HON), 259 p.;
3. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 213 p.;
4. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 203 p.;
5. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 200 p.;
6. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 197 p.;
7. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 143 p.;
8. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, SUZ), 142 p.;
9. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 121 p.;
10. Valentin Guillod (SUI, YAM), 116 p.