THOR Race Report

THOR RACE REPORT: Nagl retains red plate after Matterly Basin nail-biter.


Although not the results he’d hoped for, the GP of Great Britain still ended with a good showing from Red Bull IceOne Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Max Nagl. The German accepted a stroke of luck with open arms when he crashed in the first moto but a restart of the race allowed Nagl to regroup and finish 3rd. A tough second moto after a nail-biting opening with Desalle and Simpson had Nagl fighting for the lead however a loss of rhythm relinquished MAX to 5th by the end of the moto.

Todd Waters showed good speed throughout the weekend holding on to 5th spot when the first moto was red flagged. The Australian is gradually putting his wheel in the mix and will soon be a force to be reckoned with.

Tyla Rattray retained his top ten series ranking with a first moto eighth for the Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Team. Rattray’s second moto was tainted when a rock damaged his goggles on the second lap and he had to fight the entire moto with impaired vision to salvage 11th spot.


Reigning MX2 world champion, Jordi Tixier raced to his fourth consecutive podium finish for the Monster Energy Kawasaki MX2 Racing Team.

Thomas Covington enjoyed his most successful GP since the series returned to Europe as he charged to seventh and tenth places for ninth overall. The young American raced on the leaderboard throughout the first moto, and then showed resilience as he recovered from a missed gear shift at the start of race two to charge from the back of the field to tenth.

Replacing an injured Dylan Ferrandis, Bulgarian Petr Petrov made his first appearance for the Monster Energy Kawasaki team. 9-10 scores showed a consistent start in Green for Petrov.

Round 8 of the 18 round series will take place next weekend on the 30-31 May in Villars sous Ecot in France.

Race results:


MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:

1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 34:01.346;
2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:03.020;
3. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:04.067;
4. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:13.676;
5. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:16.369;
6. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Honda), +0:17.680;
7. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:19.284;
8. Tyla Rattray (RSA, Kawasaki), +0:34.863;
9. Todd Waters (AUS, Husqvarna), +0:38.855;
10. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:41.855

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:

1. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), 34:18.842
2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:02.087
3. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:09.664
4. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:13.390
5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:23.149
6. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:27.787
7. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Honda), +0:30.814
8. Ken deDycker (BEL, KTM), +0:39.725
9. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:41.970
10. Steven Frossard (FRA, KTM), +0:43.350

MXGP Overall Top Ten:

1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 45 points
2. Clement Desalle (BEL, SUZ), 44 p.
3. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 39 p.
4. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 36 p.
5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 36 p.
6. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 31 p.
7. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HON), 29 p.
8. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), 23 p.
9. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 23 p.
10. Tyla Rattray (RSA, KAW), 23 p

MXGP Championship Top Ten:

1. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 295 points;
2. Clement Desalle (BEL, SUZ), 291 p.;
3. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 274 p.;
4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HON), 237 p.;
5. RomainFebvre (FRA, YAM), 235 p.;
6. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 207 p.;
7. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 145 p.;
8. Ryan Villopoto (USA, KAW), 124 p.;
9. Todd Waters (AUS, HUS), 121 p.;
10. Tyla Rattray (RSA, KAW), 118 p.


MX2 Race 1 Top Ten:

1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 34:26.799
2. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Yamaha), +0:05.515
3. Max Anstie (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:10.678
4. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), +0:29.783
5. Jordi Tixier (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:36.055
6. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Suzuki), +0:42.085
7. Thomas Covington (USA, Kawasaki), +0:44.125
8. Aleksandr Tonkov (RUS, Husqvarna), +0:58.139
9. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Yamaha), +1:01.738
10. Ivo Monticelli (ITA, KTM), +1:11.618

MX2 Race 2 Top Ten:

1. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Yamaha), 34:48.889
2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:00.865
3. Jordi Tixier (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:29.243
4. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), +0:38.510
5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Suzuki), +0:43.357
6. Max Anstie (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:54.396
7. Aleksandr Tonkov (RUS, Husqvarna), +1:08.337
8. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Yamaha), +1:10.771
9. Petar Petrov (BUL, Kawasaki), +1:11.839
10. Thomas Covington (USA, Kawasaki), +1:21.065

MX2 Overall Top Ten:

1. Valentin Guillod (SUI, YAM), 47 points
2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 47 p.
3. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KAW), 36 p.
4. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), 36 p.
5. Max Anstie (GBR, KAW), 35 p.
6. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 31 p.
7. Aleksandr Tonkov (RUS, HUS), 27 p.
8. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 25 p.
9. Thomas Covington (USA, KAW), 25 p.
10. Petar Petrov (BUL, KAW), 22 p

MX2 Championship Top Ten:

1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 308 points
2. Valentin Guillod (SUI, YAM), 216 p.
3. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), 213 p.
4. Dylan Ferrandis (FRA, KAW), 205 p.
5. Aleksandr Tonkov (RUS, HUS), 189 p.
6. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KAW), 189 p.
7. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 182 p.
8. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 169 p.
9. Julien Lieber (BEL, YAM), 167 p.
10. MaxAnstie (GBR, KAW), 158 p.