Thor Race Report

Cairoli podiums at season opener in Matterly Basin.

Adverse weather conditions could not stop the hardcore motocross fans from cheering on their GP stars at the first round of the FIM Motocross world championship held in Matterly Basin.

9 times world champion, Antonio Cairoli, made the most of the muddy circuit in his first GP back from a six month lay off.  Adorning the THOR Prime Pro gear, Cairoli narrowly missed out on a podium in moto 1 but came out firing in moto 2.  Chasing Jeffrey Herlings for the duration of the moto Cairoli kept up the pressure and secured his first podium of the season.

Team-mate Jorge Prado made a miraculous comeback after a broken femur in December was thought to have ruled the young Spaniard out of contention in his rookie MXGP year. The 2-time MX2 world champ, took his MXGP debut in his stride and posted a consistent 9-12 score to score 10th overall.  No doubt Prado’s tenacity and talent will see him mix it up with the front runners as he gets more race time under his belt.
A new look for Glen Coldenhoff and Ivo Monitcelli saw the Standing construct duo launch the new Factory GasGas team in Matterly. Coldenhoff kicked off the opener with a 6-6 score which going into Valkenswaard next weekend is going to give the friendly Dutchman a good base for this home GP.

Round 2 of the FIM MXGP series takes place in Valkenswaard, The Netherlands, on 7-8 March.

Race results:

MXGP - Race 1 Results:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 35:33.506;
2. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:11.870;
3. Mitchell Evans (AUS, Honda), +0:17.051;
4. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:25.377;
5. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:29.331;
6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, GASGAS), +0:30.365;
7. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:38.148;
8. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:39.702;
9. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), +0:41.135;
10. Henry Jacobi (GER, Yamaha), +0:56.640;

MXGP - Race 2 Results:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 35:44.501;
2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:23.382;
3. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:28.395;
4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:30.195;
5. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:32.276;
6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, GASGAS), +0:33.945;
7. Mitchell Evans (AUS, Honda), +0:36.870;
8. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:38.209;
9. Henry Jacobi (GER, Yamaha), +0:48.109;
10. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Honda), +1:00.115;

MXGP - GP Classification:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 47 points;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 38 p.;
3. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 38 p.;
4. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 35 p.;
5. Mitchell Evans (AUS, HON), 34 p.;
6. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 32 p.;
7. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 32 p.;
8. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, GAS), 30 p.;
9. Henry Jacobi (GER, YAM), 23 p.;
10. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), 21 p.;