Thor Race Report

Thor Race report: Desalle secures second in Valkenswaard sand.

Cold but sunny conditions saw a strong turn out for round 3 of the FIM MXGP world championship held at the ‘Eurocircuit” in Valkenswaard, the Netherlands.

Thor’s spearhead, Clement Desalle, turned in an impressive ride as the tenacious Belgian secured his first overall podium of the season with a 2-5 score for second overall. Charging to 2nd in moto 1 from just inside the top 10, Desalle looked like a man possessed and made some great passes to trail Cairoli by the halfway point. Julien Lieber tried to hook onto the back of Desalle as he charged to the front and managed to hold onto 6th spot. Max Anstie grabbed a great start and lead the moto for 7 laps and at one stage was even gapping Cairoli. A small mistake was punished when he fell with the bike pinning him to the Valkenswaard sand. He remounted and finished 16th just in front of teammate’s Coldenhoff and Montecelli in a Standing Construct KTM train.

Four THOR riders rounded out the top 10 in moto 2 with Desalle’s fifth giving him second step on the overall podium. Julien Lieber once again put in a consistent ride for 7th at the checkered flag, closely followed by Anstie and Coldenhoff in 9th and 10th respectively.

The picturesque hard pack circuit of Trentino now awaits round 4 next week as teams and riders leave the Dutch sand for the technical and hard pack circuit of Pietramurata on the 7th of April.

Race results:

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 34:34.806;
2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:04.242;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:05.137;
4. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Husqvarna), +0:06.759;
5. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Honda), +0:12.427;
6. Julien Lieber (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:13.786;
7. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:14.058;
8. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:20.989;
9. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:35.999;
10. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), +0:39.272.

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 34:13.363;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:01.461;
3. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Honda), +0:32.822;
4. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Husqvarna), +0:42.905;
5. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:48.123;
6. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:51.333;
7. Julien Lieber (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:52.345;
8. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:54.021;
9. Max Anstie (GBR, KTM), +1:00.795;
10. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +1:01.515

MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 50 points;
2. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 38 p.;
3. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 36 p.;
4. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, HON), 36 p.;
5. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, HUS), 36 p.;
6. Julien Lieber (BEL, KAW), 29 p.;
7. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 28 p.;
8. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 28 p.;
9. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 25 p.;
10. Max Anstie (GBR, KTM), 17 p.

MXGP ChampionshipTop Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 147 points;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 125 p.;
3. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 103 p.;
4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 102 p.;
5. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, HON), 102 p.;
6. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, HUS), 92 p.;
7. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 78 p.;
8. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 64 p.;
9. Julien Lieber (BEL, KAW), 62 p.;
10. Max Anstie (GBR, KTM), 56 p.