Thor Race Report

Thor race report: Clement Desalle opens the MXGP season with a podium in Argentina

The long awaited start to the 2018 MXGP season has seen Thor’s Clement Desalle race to two strong performances to claim 3rd overall at the opening round in Patagonia, Argentina. The Belgian looked consistent all weekend and with his 3-3 score is in the hunt for the coveted MXGP title.

Fellow rookie team-mate Julian Lieber was impressive in his MXGP debut. The gutsy Belgian went down in the second moto in the first turn but remounted to 12th position to gain 8th overall for his first showing with the KRT team.

Evgeny Bobryshev and the THOR supported BOS racing Team improved with each outing in their first MXGP season campaign. The likable Russian produced a consistent second moto to finish 9th leaving him 12th on the board in the overall point standings.

The MXGP calendar returns to the European continent in Valkenswaard where the “Eurocircuit" will allow motocross fans a first glimpse of their favourite riders in the demanding and rough sand conditions on the 24-25 March.

Race results:

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 34:23.907;
2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:01.075;
3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:30.101;
4. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:32.081;
5. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:34.491;
6. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Husqvarna), +0:39.338;
7. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:44.786;
8. Julien Lieber (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:51.977;
9. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:55.538;
10. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:56.248.

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 34:56.319;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:02.051;
3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:23.027;
4. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:26.080;
5. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:34.539;
6. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Husqvarna), +0:45.838;
7. Shaun Simpson (GBR, Yamaha), +0:58.958;
8. Maximilian Nagl (GER, TM), +1:01.409;
9. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Suzuki), +1:15.786;
10. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Kawasaki), +1:17.858.

MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 47 points;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 47 p.;
3. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 40 p.;
4. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 34 p.;
5. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 34 p.;
6. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 30 p.;
7. Shaun Simpson (GBR, YAM), 24 p.;
8. Julien Lieber (BEL, KAW), 22 p.;
9. Maximilian Nagl (GER, TM), 21 p.;
10. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 21 p