Thor Race Report

THOR’s Max Anstie storms to victory at MXON

The 71st edition of the Motocross of Nations, held at the Matterly Basin circuit in the UK, has once again brought together a multitude of passionate and patriotic MX fans from across the globe.

THOR’s Max Asntie, harnessed the support of the British fans to dominate both his moto’s on a slippery and rutted circuit which would catch the Brit of guard in the final moto. Anstie recovered quickly and then stormed to victory after re-passing Romain Febvre, claiming a double win and an overall 3rd podium spot for Team Great Britain.

Team France took their 4th consecutive victory and with it the coveted Chamberlain trophy while Team Netherlands were once again runner’s up.

A massive attendance of 72.000 spectators over the weekend once again proved the undeniable magnitude of the MXON which will now be held in the USA at the Red Bud circuit in Buchanan, Michigan in 2018.

Race results:

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:
1. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), 36:10.357;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:06.251;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Husqvarna), +0:09.398;
4. Hunter Lawrence (AUS, Suzuki), +0:41.407;
5. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:44.978;
6. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:55.596;
7. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +1:00.247;
8. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +1:08.634;
9. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, Husqvarna), +1:19.761;
10. Zachary Osborne (USA, Husqvarna), +1:31.126

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 37:59.364;
2. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:13.730;
3. Zachary Osborne (USA, Husqvarna), +1:38.876;
4. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Honda), +1:40.149;
5. Kirk Gibbs (AUS, KTM), +1:44.122;
6. Christophe Charlier (FRA, Husqvarna), +1:49.117;
7. Dean Wilson (GBR, Husqvarna), +2:01.064;
8. Hunter Lawrence (AUS, Suzuki), +2:02.897;
9. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), +2:07.211;
10. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, Husqvarna), +2:28.124.

MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), 37:59.163;
2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:01.108;
3. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +1:00.011;
4. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +1:20.559;
5. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +1:27.401;
6. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Husqvarna), +1:36.967;
7. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +1:44.854;
8. Dean Wilson (GBR, Husqvarna), +1:51.593;
9. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Suzuki), +2:02.765;
10. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +2:07.648

Nations top ten:
France, The Netherlands, Great Britain, Belgium, Switzerland, Australia, Italy, Estonia, USA, Sweden