Thor Race Report


Round 15 of the FIM MXGP series saw a sell out Swiss Crowd line the Frauenfeld circuit for a weekend of barbanging racing. Max Anstie looked good all weekend and backed up his second place in qualifying on Saturday with a stellar ride and second place in moto 1 on Sunday. He challenged Swiss favourite, Arnaud Tonus for the duration of the moto and at the same time fended off Antonio Cairoli. A lesser start in moto 2 saw an overall podium out of reach as he finished 12th for 5th overall. Team-mate Max Nagl showed consistent speed but could not count on his usual good starts and had to settle for 10th overall.

Clement Desalle had a weekend he would rather forget.  A series of small crashes and bad starts left him gritting his teeth and having to fight through the pack in all motos. 12th overall was not on his wish list and he is certain to go to Sweden in a week time to make amends.
Mikkel Haarup rode a strong first EMX125 moto for 3rd place and in doing so kept his championship hopes alive. Disaster struck in moto 2 when a crash put him down the ladder and he could only manage to recover to 21st spot. With the final round of the championship being held next week in Uddevalla, Sweden, Haarup will do his best to secure a podium championship finish.

Race results:

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:

1. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), 34:40.671;
2. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), +0:00.882;
3. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:01.419;
4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Husqvarna), +0:08.563;
5. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:23.095;
6. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:31.501;
7. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:33.556;
8. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:38.368;
9. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:40.735;
10. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:41.371

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 34:26.611;
2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Husqvarna), +0:04.557;
3. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:07.625;
4. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:11.381;
5. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:23.231;
6. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:31.183;
7. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:44.703;
8. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:52.004;
9. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:53.997;
10. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Honda),+0:55.213

MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 40 points;
2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 40 p.;
3. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 38 p.;
4. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 36 p.;
5. Max Anstie (GBR, HUS), 31 p.;
6. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 30 p.;
7. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 28 p.;
8. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 25 p.;
9. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 25 p.;
10. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 22 p.

MXGP Championship Top Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 605 points;
2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 508 p.;
3. Gautier Paulin(FRA, HUS), 486 p.;
4. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 483 p.;
5. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 406 p.;
6. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 401 p.;
7. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 358 p.;
8. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 348 p.;
9. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 328 p.;
10. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 320 p.