Thor Race Report

Max Anstie achieves career first podium in Ottobiano - Haarup wins EMX 125!

Scorching temperatures and a grueling Ottobiano sand track put man and machine to the test for round 11 of the MXGP series in Lombardia, Italy.
Thor’s MXGP rookie, Max Anstie rose to the occasion to claim his first ever overall result in the premier class with a stellar performance in both motos.  Getting stuck in the gate in moto 1 the gutsy Britt fought his way through to 5th place with a podium spot in his sights by the end of the energy drenching race.  Getting a better start in moto 2 Anstie shadowed Jeffrey Herlings to finish in 3rd, securing 3rd overall for the GP.
Fellow Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing team-mate, Max Nagl posted 2 consistent scores of 7-4 for 5th overall having to give his all in the blistering conditions.
Coming off 2 back to back MXGP victories, Clement Desalle, was a little disappointed with his Italian excursion. Grabbing good starts in both moto’s, Desalle battled to find his race rhythm and consolidated the weekend with 8-7 scores.  He now occupies 3rd in the point standings.
Jordi Tixier returned to racing after some time off to recover from a groin injury.  The former MX2 world champ’s speed was there but the lack of race time on the bike got the better of the Frenchman. He was running seventh in moto 2 when a big crash forced hisearly retirement from the race.
Mikkel Haarup put on an amazing performance to claim a double victory in the EMX125 European championship. The likeable Dane mastered the sandy hot conditions to claim his second overall victory of the season after winning the opening round in Valkenswaard.  He has now moved into second in the points standings with the championship still up for grabs.
There will be very little time to recuperate as the calendar returns to Agueda Portugal next weekend for round 12.

Race results:

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 35:16.580;
2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:18.376;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Husqvarna), +0:35.788;
4. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:40.227;
5. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), +0:42.471;
6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:43.912;
7. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:50.960;
8. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:52.229;
9. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:52.620;
10. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:57.487.

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 35:31.111;
2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:32.821;
3. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), +0:37.107;
4. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:46.221;
5. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU,Suzuki), +0:47.845;
6. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:54.255;
7. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:56.107;
8. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +1:10.955;
9. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Honda), +1:16.702;
10. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Husqvarna), +1:34.478.

MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 50 points;
2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 44 p.;
3. Max Anstie (GBR, HUS), 36 p.;
4. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 33 p.;
5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 32 p.;
6. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 31 p.;
7. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 27 p.;
8. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 25 p.;
9. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 23 p.;
10. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 21 p.

MXGP Championship Top Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 431 points;
2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 364 p.;
3. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 361 p.;
4. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 335 p.;
5. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 282 p.;
6. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 275 p.;
7. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 261 p.;
8. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 255 p.;
9. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 245 p.;
10. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 227 p