Thor Race Report

THOR RACE REPORT:  Desalle bests Russian mud for MXGP victory!

THOR’s Clement Desalle hasmastered round 10 of the FIM MX World championship in Orlyonok, Russia to take a well deserved victory. The determined Belgian now moves into second place in the overall standings.
Desalle’s first moto  did not get off to a great start however the factory Monster Energy Kawasaki rider soldiered his way though the mud and sludge to gain a podium place by the end of the grueling race for 3rd.  A better start in moto 2 saw him challenging for the lead and with only a few laps to go he made his move and brought home the bacon for a great victory and the overall.
Collecting a career best result of 4-5, Max Anstie was in a podium overall position in the final moto however a last lap error saw the friendly Britt’s podium chances fly out the window.  4th overall was commendable in the extreme conditions and has left Anstie hungry for more.
Max Nagl set the pace in  Saturday’s qualification race as he lead from the start, however an unfortunate crash dashed the German’s hopes of victory and riding in pain in the muddy quagmire he  had to salvage 8-11 results for 10th overall.
Jordi Tixier had to sit out the Russian GP after aggravating his groin injury and hopes to be back in Ottobiano, Italy for round 11 in two weeks time.

Race results:

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 35:07.381;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:19.520;
3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:24.095;
4. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), +0:35.592;
5. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Husqvarna),+0:48.462;
6. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Honda), +0:57.494;
7. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Suzuki), +0:58.944;
8. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:59.378;
9. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +1:00.574;
10. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +1:10.577

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), 35:15.906;
2. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:14.954;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Husqvarna), +1:19.867;
4.Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +1:32.476;
5. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), +1:44.577;
6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +2:10.809;
7. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Suzuki), +2:15.047;
8. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +2:27.387;
9. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), -1 lap(s);
10. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), -1 lap(s)

MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 45 points;
2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 38 p.;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 36 p.;
4. Max Anstie (GBR, HUS), 34 p.;
5. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 34 p.;
6. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 33 p.;
7. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 30 p.;
8. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, SUZ), 28 p.;
9. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 24 p.;
10. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 23 p.

MXGP Championship Top Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 381 points;
2. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 334 p.;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 333 p.;
4. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 291 p.;
5. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 261 p.;
6. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 261 p.;
7. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 242 p.;
8. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 233 p.;
9. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 223 p.;
10. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 202 p.