Rally Dakar 2022: Stage 10

Stage 10 Dakar Rally: Adrien Van Beveren Is Back On Top.

Monster Energy Yamaha Rally Team’s Adrien Van Beveren has retaken the lead at the Dakar Rally following the conclusion of today’s stage 10.

Delivering his best result of the rally so far with a third-place finish on what was a truly technical special, the Frenchman now returns to the head of the field in the provisional overall standings with a near six-minute advantage over his closest rival.

Even with his less than favourable starting position on stage 10, Adrien Van Beveren set off ninth yet set a blistering pace to quickly reel in the leading riders. From there, the recently turned 31-year-old rode his own race, navigating superbly through the rocky canyons near to the end of the 374-kilometre special to post the third fastest time - his best stage result of the rally so far. Following another strong day in the desert, Van Beveren now enjoys a healthy advantage at the top of the overall standings.

""Like every day I focused heavily on my roadbook and rode the stage with a strong pace throughout. Navigation wasn’t easy today, especially with so many canyons in places, but I did a really good job, I think. I did struggle to find a couple of waypoints but otherwise it was another great stage for me. I went as fast as I could near the end and ended up in a good spot on the stage, and also in the overall. Tomorrow is a big day and opening will be difficult, but I’m ready for the challenge."

Adrien Van Beveren – Monster Energy Yamaha Rally Team

Race results:

Stage 10 Provisional Classification:
1. Toby Price (KTM) 3:05:32
2. Luciano Benavides (Husqvarna) 3:07:41 + 0:02:09
3. Adrien Van Beveren (Yamaha) 3:09:07 + 0:03:35
4. Lorenzo Santolino (Sherco) 3:11:12 + 0:05:40
5. Andrew Short (Yamaha) 3:12:01 + 0:06:29
6. Stefan Svitko (Honda) 3:12:01 + 0:06:29

Overall Provisional Classification (after stage 10):
1. Adrien Van Beveren (Yamaha) 33:27:06
2. Sam Sunderland (GASGAS) 33:33:05 + 0:05:59
3. Pablo Quintanilla (Honda) 33:31:21 + 0:06:15
4. Matthias Walkner (KTM) 33:35:30 + 0:08:24
5. Joan Barreda (Honda) 33:37:53 + 0:10:47
6. Toby Price (KTM) 33:54:49 + 0:27:43