Rally Dakar 2022: Stage 8

Stage 8 Dakar Rally:  Adrien Van Beveren keeps in the mix.

Making another positive step towards the Dakar Rally finish line, Monster Energy Yamaha Rally Team’s Adrien Van Beveren has completed the challenging eighth stage as the ninth fastest rider.

In doing so, the Frenchman now forms part of a four-rider group breaking away at the front of the overall results and lies third in the provisional standings.
Faced with a little adversity on stage eight of the Dakar Rally, Adrien Van Beveren’s roadbook mechanism stopped working, which forced the Frenchman to operate his navigational device by hand. Unfazed by the additional challenge, the experienced rally racer continued to maintain his high pace, resulting in a strong, ninth-place finish. After leading the rally ahead of stage eight, Van Beveren now drops a couple of spots in the overall provisional classification but remains well placed in third, just under five minutes behind the new leader.

"Another consistent day for me but not an easy one. The mechanism on my roadbook stopped working so I had to turn it by hand, which was tricky at times, but it was ok. Otherwise, it has been a solid day. I gave my best as always and I’m really happy with my riding so far in the rally. It’s been another good stage for me and I’m looking forward to tomorrow, which looks like it will be a lot slower speed and with more navigation."

Adrien Van Beveren – Monster Energy Yamaha Rally Team

Race results:

Stage 8 Provisional Classification:
1. Sam Sunderland (GASGAS) 3:48:02
2. Pablo Quintanilla (Honda) 3:50:55 + 0:02:53
3. Matthias Walkner (KTM) 3:52:13 + 0:04:11
4. Ricky Brabec (Honda) 3:54:46 + 0:06:44
5. Mason Klein (KTM) 3:56:10 + 0:08:08
6. Toby Price (KTM) 3:56:41 + 0:08:39
9. Adrien Van Beveren (Yamaha) 3:58:23 + 0:10:21

Overall Provisional Classification (after stage 8):
1. Sam Sunderland (GASGAS) 27:38:42
2. Matthias Walkner (KTM) 27:42:27 + 0:03:45
3. Adrien Van Beveren (Yamaha) 27:43:25 + 0:04:43
4. Pablo Quintanilla (Honda) 27:44:12 + 0:05:30
5. Joan Barreda (Honda) 27:53:20 + 0:14:38
6. Kevin Benavides (KTM) 27:53:29 + 0:14:47