Rally Dakar 2022: Stage 6

Stage 6 Dakar Rally:  Shortened stage leaves Van Beveren in 4th overall.

Week one of the 2022 Dakar Rally is now complete for the Monster Energy Yamaha Rally Team with Adrien Van Beveren lying fourth in the provisional classification following a somewhat dangerous, and subsequently shortened, stage six.

The Frenchman ultimately posted the eighth fastest time today and continues to impress with his strong pace and calculated approach to the event.
Faced with a short but highly challenging stage, Adrien Van Beveren applied a cautious approach and paid close attention to his roadbook on stage six to safely complete the shortened, 100-kilometre special as the eighth fastest rider. With the event’s rest day scheduled for tomorrow, Adrien will enjoy some much-needed recovery time before lining up at the stage seven start line on Sunday with a highly favourable starting position..

"I knew that today would be a difficult stage and I’m happy that the organisers shortened it because it was very dangerous. We were racing on the same stage that the cars and trucks raced yesterday and there were a lot of deep ruts in places. Also, in other places, the tyre tracks from yesterday were really spread out. So, it was a difficult day. At the start I was unaware that it would be shortened so I really focused on my roadbook as this was the only way to reach the finish successfully. I’m happy to have completed the stage safely and now going into the next one on Sunday I have a good starting position. Before that we have the rest day and I’m looking forward to regrouping ahead of what will be another tough week."

Adrien Van Beveren – Monster Energy Yamaha Rally Team

Race results:

Stage 6 Provisional Classification:
1. Daniel Sanders (GASGAS) 0:51:43
2. Sam Sunderland (GASGAS) 0:54:09 + 0:02:26
3. Matthias Walkner (KTM) 0:54:19 + 0:02:36
4. Pablo Quintanilla (Honda) 0:54:58 + 0:03:15
5. Ricky Brabec (Honda) 0:55:02 + 0:03:19
6. Mason Klein (KTM) 0:55:16 + 0:03:33

8. Adrien Van Beveren (Yamaha) 0:55:53 + 0:04:10

Overall Provisional Classification (after stage 6):
1. Sam Sunderland (GASGAS) 19:55:59
2. Matthias Walkner (KTM) 19:58:38 + 0:02:39
3. Daniel Sanders (GASGAS) 20:01:34 + 0:05:35
4. Adrien Van Beveren (Yamaha) 20:03:42 + 0:07:43
5. Pablo Quintanilla (Honda) 20:13:43 + 0:17:44
6. Lorenzo Santolino (Sherco) 20:14:21 + 0:18:22