Rally Dakar 2022: Stage 3

Stage 3 Dakar Rally: Adrien Van Beveren Moves To Within Four Seconds Of The Dakar Rally Lead

Continuing to consistently post impressive stage results at this year’s Dakar Rally, Adrien Van Beveren now lies just four seconds from the provisional lead after the completion of the third timed special.

With a relatively easy 255-kilometre stage offering little to separate the riders, the Yamaha WR450F Rally rider secured the ninth fastest time to retain his second-place ranking in the overall classification
Adrien Van Beveren’s highly positive start to the 2022 Dakar Rally continued through stage three with the Frenchman placing ninth on the high speed timed special. With his strong finish comfortably defending his second-place ranking in the provisional classification, the 30-year-old will now enter stage four with an advantageous starting position and aim to deliver yet another impressive result.
The longest stage of the 2022 Dakar Rally is scheduled for tomorrow. Taking competitors from Al Qaisumah to Riyadh, the 465-kilometre special comprises fast desert tracks, punishing sand dunes, and a series of technical rocky canyons near the end which will require accurate navigation in order to secure a strong result.

"Today was good. It was very fast with a lot of open desert and with simple navigation, so nobody made any major mistakes. So far, the rally is going really well for myself and the team. I feel great on the bike and everything is perfect at the moment, so I will keep focused and continue to take things day by day."

Adrien Van Beveren – Monster Energy Yamaha Rally Team

Race results:

Stage 3 Provisional Classification:
1. Joaquim Rodrigues (Hero) 2:34:41
2. Toby Price (KTM) 2:35:44 + 0:01:03
3. Mason Klein (KTM) 2:35:55 + 0:01:14
4. Skyler Howes (Husqvarna) 2:36:07 + 0:01:26
5. Daniel Sanders (GASGAS) 2:37:36 + 0:02:55
9. Adrien Van Beveren (Yamaha) 2:39:24 + 0:04:43

Overall Provisional Classification (after stage 3):
1. Sam Sunderland (GASGAS) 11:13:40
2. Adrien Van Beveren (Yamaha) 11:13:44 + 0:00:04
3. Matthias Walkner (KTM) 11:15:10 + 0:01:30
4. Skyler Howes (Husqvarna) 11:17:35 + 0:03:55
5. Daniel Sanders (GASGAS) 11:22:34 + 0:08:54
6. Lorenzo Santolino (Sherco) 11:25:27 + 0:11:4