Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge

Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge stage 5: Van Beveren wins final stage to claim runner up spot.

Finishing off a truly excellent performance at the Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge, Adrien Van Beveren has completed the five-day event with victory on the fifth and final stage.

Claiming three stage wins from five, the Frenchman was in contention for overall victory from day one, ultimately claiming an impressive runner-up finish. Underlining what proved to be a highly positive end to the rally for the entire Monster Energy Yamaha Rally Team, Ross Branch completed the technical final stage in third place with Andrew Short right behind him in fourth.

Stage five of the Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge was the shortest of the event at 216.92 kilometres but offered little in the way of an easy ride to the finish. With tricky terrain that called for patience and precise navigation early on, all three of the team’s riders enjoyed the challenge before they raced across the finish line in Al Fathiyeh.

"Winning the last stage after opening, and finishing second in this rally, is a huge moment for me. The final stage was really tricky to begin with, made even more challenging by leading out so I rode a little cautious, but it paid off. No mistakes and knowing I had a nice gap in the overall classification meant that I could ride without risks and to win the stage, it’s just amazing. All year I’ve been consistent and focused on finishing each and every stage and this rally was no different. This result has come just at the right time ahead of Dakar, so from now until January I will maintain my level and aim to fight for the win there."

Adrien Van Beveren – Monster Energy Yamaha Rally Team

Race results: Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge 2021

Stage 4 Provisional Classification:
1. Adrien Van Beveren (Yamaha) 2:32:06
2. Matthias Walkner (KTM) 2:33:20 + 0:01:14
3. Ross Branch (Yamaha) 2:36:07 + 0:04:01
4. Andrew Short (Yamaha) 2:36:48 + 0:04:42
5. Joaquim Rodrigues (Hero) 2:40:13 + 0:08:07
6. Konrad Dabrowski (KTM) 2:46:22 + 0:14:16

Overall Provisional Classification (after stage 4):
1. Matthias Walkner (KTM) 17:38:40
2. Adrien Van Beveren (Yamaha) 17:43:12 + 0:04:32
3. Joaquim Rodrigues (Hero) 18:14:06 + 0:35:26
4. Aaron Mare (KTM) 19:38:35 + 1:59:55
5. Konrad Dabrowski (KTM) 20:29:01 + 2:50:21
6. Mohammed Al Balooshi (KTM) 20:40:48 + 3:02:08