Thor Race Report

Micha Boy De Waal WIns EMX Open In Oss.

Micha Boy de Waal of Jumbo Husqvarna BT Racing won the second round of the EMX Open Series at Oss In Holland on Sunday. After the setbacks of the series opener at Maggiora in Italy, De Waal was intent on setting matters straight, and this he did in some style, winning both heats.

De Waal has risen to third in the championship standings, with a deficit of 21 points to the leader. The third round of the series will take place at Loket, Czech Republic this coming weekend. 

Jörgen Matthias Talviku had not been on the bike since injuring his knee during the opening round of the EMX250 series in England. He demonstrated that he has the speed to mix it with the leaders. In the first heat, he was part of the leading trio initially, but his lack of training time led to some mistakes, and he crashed. He lost several positions, and finished ninth. In the second race, he surged into the lead, but his bike slid out and he crashed heavily, dropping him to last. Despite his best efforts, he could not get back into the points. 

Talviku is 17th in the championship standings. The EMX250 series continues on 31 July at Lommel. 

Scott Smulders was on the line at the ADAC Youngster Cup in Tensfeld, Germany.  He was on a mission, claiming pole position, and winning the first race after having gotten off the line third. 

In the second race, Smulders again had a good start, and pretty soon went into the lead from third position. This put him in a good position for a potential overall win in the three race weekend. Unfortunately, a miscommunication before the third race resulted in him arriving late to the parc ferme, and he was prevented from starting. Despite missing the last race, he still finished second overall, earning him a podium call up in the season opener.

Photocredits - Huub Munsters

Race results:

Overall EMX Open Oss:

1 Micha Boy de Waal 50 Pnt
2 Nicolas Dercourt 42 Pnt
3 Davide de Bortoli 40 Pnt
4 Simeo Ubach 31 Pnt
5 Kay Ebben 31 Pnt

Championship Standings EMX Open:

1 Nicolas Dercourt 84 Pnt
2 Davide de Bortoli 80 Pnt
3 Micha Boy de Waal 63 Pnt
4 Simone Croci 62 Pnt
5 Filippo Zonta 50 Pnt

Overall EMX250 Oss:

1 Rick Elzinga47 Pnt
2 Nicholas Lapucci 45 Pnt
3 Liam Everts 38 Pnt
4 Andrea Bonacorsi 36 Pnt
5 Kevin Horgmo 36 Pnt
15 Jürgen Matthias Talviku 12 Pnt

Championship Standings EMX250:

1 Nicholas Lapucci 95 Pnt
2 Kevin Horgmo 78 Pnt
3 Andrea Bonacorsi 62 Pnt
4 Liam Everts 58 Pnt
5 Rick Elzinga 57 Pnt
17 Jürgen Matthias Talviku 19 Pnt

Overall ADAC Youngster Cup 125 Tensfeld:

1 Maximilian Werner 53 Pnt
2 Scott Smulders 50 Pnt
3 Bradley Mesters 47 Pnt
4 Roberts Lusis 42 Pnt
5 Constantin Piller 40 Pnt