Dakar, Stage 6: lost time

Dakar Rally - Stage 6 : Van Beveren recovers some lost time

Heading west throughout stage six, riders reached the town of Ha’il following a 347-kilometre special. Taking riders through sandy tracks early on, competitors were then faced with undulating sand dunes for much of the challenging stage. Now, having successfully completed six gruelling stages, riders and team staff will enjoy a well-earned rest day tomorrow, ahead of six further days of racing that begins with the event’s marathon stage on Sunday.

Another Monster Energy Yamaha Rally Team rider capitalising on his starting position was Adrien Van Beveren. After a challenging day yesterday, the Frenchman returned to form, tackling the high-speed terrain found on stage six with focused determination. Maintaining a fast and consistent pace throughout the 347-kilometre special, Van Beveren placed sixth on the stage and began to chip away at the leading riders ahead, eventually making up four minutes. Adrien now looks ahead to the second week of racing with confidence.


Adrien Van Beveren – Monster Energy Yamaha Rally Team

"Today was much better, especially compared to yesterday. I had a good feeling with the bike and was able to push the whole time. I’m still disappointed about yesterday but I will keep my head up and take it day by day. Rest day tomorrow but for the remaining stages I am positive. My bike is good and I feel strong so next week will be really good for me."

With stage six of the 2021 Dakar Rally now complete, Ross, Adrien, Franco, and the entire Monster Energy Yamaha Rally Team will enjoy a well-earned rest day ahead of stage seven, and leg one of the rally’s two-day marathon stage on Sunday 10 January. Competitors will depart from Ha’il and head to Sakaka, reaching the most northerly point of the event upon their arrival. Riders are then permitted just 10 minutes to prepare their own machines ahead of the second marathon stage leg.

Dakar Rally 2021:

Stage 4 Provisional Classification:

1. Joan Barreda (Honda) 3:45:27
2. Ross Branch (Yamaha) 3:45:40 + 0:00:13
3. Daniel Sanders (KTM) 3:46:20 + 0:00:53
4. Ricky Brabec (Honda) 3:47:51 + 0:02:24
5. Matthias Walkner (KTM) 3:48:41 + 0:03:14
6. Adrien Van Beveren (Yamaha) 3:49:00 + 0:03:33

Overall Provisional Classification (after stage 4):

1. Toby Price (KTM) 24:08:43
2. Kevin Benavides (Honda) 24:10:59 + 0:02:16
3. Jose Ignacio Cornejo (Honda) 24:11:40 + 0:02:57
4. Ross Branch (Yamaha) 24:12:24 + 0:03:41
5. Xavier de Soultrait (Husqvarna) 24:12:24 + 0:03:41
6. Sam Sunderland (KTM) 24:13:06 + 0:04:23

15. Adrien Van Beveren (Yamaha) 24:43:30 + 0:34:47