JFolder: :files: Path is not a folder. Path: /var/www/media/cms/images/news/2021/01/05_vanbeveren/gallery/


Dakar, Stage 2: advances to 6th

Dakar Rally - Stage 2 : Van Beveren advances through the field to hold 6th!

Stage two of the 2021 Dakar Rally saw Adrien Van Beveren take on the first sand dunes of the event. With his navigational skills put to the test throughout the technical stage, he ended the day optimistic about the stages ahead and looking forward to the coming days in the sand dunes.

After just over four and a half hours in the saddle, Adrien Van Beveren came home in sixth place to continue his strong start to the rally. Taking to the start in 13th following his result on the opening stage proved highly advantageous as he was able to focus on following the lines left in the deep sand by the competitors ahead of him. Despite riding through dust at times, he remained focused, going on to record another strong finish. The Frenchman now sits sixth in the provisional overall classification.


Adrien Van Beveren – Monster Energy Yamaha Rally Team

"A much better day for me today. Plenty of sand and dunes and I was able to ride loose and confident, a big improvement over yesterday. I pushed from the start, but quickly got caught up in some dust from other riders but I kept my rhythm and kept moving forwards. I made a few small mistakes but felt great today, really confident on my bike and I’m happy with where I am after stage two."

Stage three of the 2021 Dakar Rally is a loop stage that starts from, and returns to, Wadi Ad-Dawasir. The 629 km stage features a 403 km special and provides a real challenge of mixed terrain including dunes and technical canyons, linked together with high-speed sections.

Dakar Rally 2021:

Stage 2 Provisional Classification:

1. Joan Barreda (Honda) 4:17:56
2. Ricky Brabec (Honda) 4:21:51 + 0:03:55
3. Pablo Quintanilla (Husqvarna) 4:23:58 + 0:06:02
4. Ross Branch (Yamaha) 4:29:50 + 0:11:54
5. Jose Ignacio Cornejo (Honda) 4:30:02 + 0:12:06
6. Adrien Van Beveren (Yamaha) 4:30:38 + 0:12:42

Overall Provisional Classification (after stage 2):

1. Joan Barreda (Honda) 8:15:38
2. Ricky Brabec (Honda) 8:22:01 + 0:06:23
3. Ross Branch (Yamaha) 8:22:15 + 0:06:37
4. Pablo Quintanilla (Husqvarna) 8:22:54 + 0:07:16
5. Xavier de Soultrait (Husqvarna) 8:24:03 + 0:08:25
6. Adrien Van Beveren (Yamaha) 8:24:12 + 0:08:34