Thor Race Report

Thor Race report: Thor Race report: Antonio Cairoli wins in Trentino.

The FIM Motocross world championship has hit its final stage with the first leg of a Trentino triple header seeing Thor’s Antonio Cairoli taking victory for round 16 of the 18 round series.

The spectacular setting of the Pietramurata circuit on the foot of the dolomite rock cliffs was adorned by blue skies and ideal racing weather.  As the gate dropped for race 1, Cairoli reacted well and emerged in second behind archrival Gajser as the duo proceeded to pull away from the pack.  Cairoli matched the Slovenian lap for lap but could not find any kinks in his armour throughout the 35min + 2 lap race.  Gajser took victory with Cairoli just behind in second. Fellow countryman, Ivo Monticelli made good progress during the moto as he picked off a lot of positions to come home in 9th place.

It had been a long time waiting but finally Cairoli grabbed his first hole-shot of the season and looked in a strong position out front.  Clement Desalle had other ideas though and snuck past on the same lap as the two old rivals played cat and mouse the entire moto.  Desalle held onto the lead till the checkered flag as Cairoli settled for second to take his 92nd career overall MXGP victory.

Monticelli bettered his first moto score to end 8th for 7 overall.

The second of leg of the Trentino triple header will take place in 3 days’ time on Wednesday 4th November where Cairoli still has a slim mathematical chance of the title.

Images: KTM/GasGas.


Race results:

MXGP - Grand Prix Race 1 – Classification Top 10:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 35:06.977; 
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:07.891;
3. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:30.105;
4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:34.388;
5. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:40.260;
6. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:44.522;
7. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Yamaha), +0:48.919;
8. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), +0:53.606; 
9. Ivo Monticelli (ITA, GASGAS), +1:13.961;
10. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Honda), +1:23.450.

MXGP - Grand Prix Race 2 – Classification Top 10:
1. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), 35:15.111; 
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:02.221;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:09.072;
4. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:12.282;
5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:19.978;
6. Romain Febvre (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:44.120;
7. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Yamaha), +0:45.684; 
8. Ivo Monticelli (ITA, GASGAS), +0:57.306;
9. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), +0:58.992;
10. Brent Van doninck (BEL, Yamaha), +1:00.107.

MXGP - GP Classification Top 10:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 44 points;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 43 p.;
3. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 40 p.;
4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 38 p.;
5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 36 p.;
6. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, YAM), 28 p.; 
7. Ivo Monticelli (ITA, GAS), 25 p.;
8. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 24 p.;
9. Romain Febvre (FRA, KAW), 22 p.;
10. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), 22 p.

MXGP -Championship – Top 10 Classification:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 626 points; 
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 553 p.;
3. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 535 p.;
4. Romain Febvre (FRA, KAW), 487 p.; 
5. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), 476 p.;
6. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 441 p.;
7. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 402 p.; 
8. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, GAS), 375 p.;
9. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, HON), 307 p.;
10. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 263 p.