Thor Race Report

Thor Race report: Thor Race report: Drenched Lommel circuit puts riders to the test for final leg.

The final leg of the Lommel MXGP triple header has seen a drenched sand circuit put the MXGP riders to the test with deep tricky ruts and slippery under surface for round 15 of the Motocross world championship.

Missing from the start gate was Jorge Prado who had to self-isolate after being tested positive for Covid-19.  Antonio Cairoli was the lone Factory KTM representative and grabbed a good start in moto 1 but lost sight of the leading duo of Gajser and Febvre.  Cairoli rode a steady race with no mistakes to come home in 3rd spot.   Ivo Montecelii was missing his usual good starts and was registered in 19th on lap one.  The Standing Construct Factory GasGas rider pushed hard to come through to 14th.

Moto 2 would prove to be a test for Cairoli as he went down on the opening lap of the race.  He would have another get-off but remounted and never gave up to push himself into the top ten by the end of the grueling moto.  Monticelli could only manage 17th in a day that most would want to forget.

The last 3 rounds of the series will take place in a final triple header to be held in Trentino, Italy next weekend.  Cairoli holds strong in second place and with 150 points left on the table the 9 time world champ trails Gajser by 74 points.

Images: KTM/GasGas.


Race results:

MXGP - Grand Prix Race 1 – Classification Top 10:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 36:25.583;
2. Romain Febvre (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:22.638; 
3. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:39.629;
4. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:55.783;
5. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +1:00.705;
6. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), +1:09.550;
7. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), +1:14.677;
8. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +1:14.890;
9. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Honda), +1:23.600;
10. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +1:43.515.

MXGP - Grand Prix Race 2 – Classification Top 10:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 36:31.050;
2. Romain Febvre (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:18.740;
3. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:23.084;
4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:30.972;
5. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:55.849;
6. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +1:10.025;
7. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), +1:25.726;
8. Brent Van doninck (BEL, Husqvarna), +1:31.433;
9. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), +1:36.101; 
10. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +1:49.623.

MXGP - GP Classification Top 10:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 50 points;
2. Romain Febvre (FRA, KAW), 44 p.;
3. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 38 p.;
4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 34 p.;
5. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 31 p
6. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 29 p.;
7. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), 29 p.;
8. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 26 p.;
9. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), 26 p.;
10. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, HON), 18 p.

MXGP -Championship – Top 10 Classification:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 583 points; 
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 509 p.;
3. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 499 p.;
4. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), 476 p.;
5. Romain Febvre (FRA, KAW), 465 p.;
6. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 403 p.; 
7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, GAS), 375 p.;
8. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 362 p.;
9. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, HON), 289 p.;
10. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 263 p..