Thor Race Report

Thor Race report: Cairoli takes moto win to podium at final Mantova leg.

The third and final leg of the Mantova MXGP triple header has delivered some exciting racing with Antonio Cairoli and Glenn Coldenhoff both stepping onto the podium at round 11 of the FIM Motocross World championship.

It was Glenn Coldenhoff who set pole and rolled onto the start line with choice gate pick however Jorge Prado took the advantage in the start and lead the opening moto. Cairoli followed in the shadows in 5th spot, waiting to pick up any spoils with the hot pace out front. Coldenhoff registered in 9th on lap 1 and considering that the Mantova circuit was difficult to pass on, the tenacious Dutchman pushed hard and picked off rider after rider.   With two laps to go he passed Prado for second and then went after Gajser. He crossed the line a meer second adrift of the Slovenian with Prado close behind in third and Cairoli in 5th.

This time it was Gajser who lead the opening laps with Cairoli hot on his heels. Prado went down and was left stone last as the pack disappeared, dashing the Spaniards chances of yet another overall podium. Four laps in, Gajser made a mistake which Cairoli capitalized on, much to the delight of the Italian crowd. The nine-time world champ took control of the moto and never faltered as he took the checkered flag for the win. Coldenoff followed in 5th which landed him enough points for 3rd overall with team-mate Monticelli coming home in 11th

With little time to rest, teams and riders make the trek west to Madrid where round 12 will take place next weekend 11th October. Cairoli trails Gajser by 11 points in the MXGP championship standings.
Images: KTM/GasGas.


Race results:

MXGP - Grand Prix Race 1 – Classification Top 10:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 34:17.344; 
2. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, GASGAS), +0:01.263
3. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), +0:04.925;
4. Mitchell Evans (AUS, Honda), +0:08.675; 
5. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:09.994;
6. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:11.544;
7. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:19.247;
8. Ivo Monticelli (ITA, GASGAS), +0:20.654;
9. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), +0:21.495;
10. Romain Febvre (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:21.844.

MXGP - Grand Prix Race 2 – Classification Top 10:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 34:09.190;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:02.652;
3. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:06.339;
4. Romain Febvre (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:08.174; 
5. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, GASGAS), +0:20.703;
6. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:26.332;
7. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:30.752;
8. Mitchell Evans (AUS, Honda), +0:33.840;
9. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, Yamaha), +0:35.952;
10. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), +0:37.138.

MXGP - GP Classification Top 10:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 47 points; 
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 41 p.; 
3. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, GAS), 38 p.;
4. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 35 p.;
5. Mitchell Evans (AUS, HON), 31 p.;
6. Romain Febvre (FRA, KAW), 29 p.;
7. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 28 p.;
8. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 24 p.; 
9. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), 24 p.;
10. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), 23 p.

MXGP -Championship – Top 10 Classification:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 399 points; 
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 388 p.; 
3. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 369 p.; 
4. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), 341 p.; 
5. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, GAS), 341 p.;
6. Romain Febvre (FRA, KAW), 304 p.;
7. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 285 p.;
8. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 263 p.;
9. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 262 p.;
10. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, HUS), 248 p.