Thor Race Report

Thor Race report: Cairoli wins in Faenza to claim MXGP red platethor.

The 3rd and final leg of the triple header held at the Faenza circuit in Italy has witnessed Antonio Cairoli win round 8 of the series to claim the title lead and with it the red plate in the MXGP class.

With spectators allowed to attend the final leg at the Monte Coralli circuit, it was Jorge Prado who grabbed the hole-shot in moto 1 and rode an unbelievable race after coming under pressure from Jeremy Sewer.  The 2 times MX2 world champ did not falter and claimed his first ever MXGP race win with team-mate Cairoli close behind for a THOR 1-2 finish.  Glenn Coldenhoff had to charge from outside of the top ten in the opening stages and managed to claw his way into 8th by the end of the grueling moto.

Prado is definitely claiming the title of hole-shot king as the Spaniard rocketed into the lead in moto 2.  Gajser took 10 mins to reel Prado in to pinch the lead and Cairoli quickly followed.  The two matched each other lap for lap and at one stage Cairoli looked to have closed the gap on the Slovenian and was ready for an attack yet Gasjer held strong to take the win. Cairoli’s consistent 2-2 score would claim him his 91st overall GP win and with it the MXGP championship lead.  Prado would end 6th with a well-deserved 3rd spot on the overall podium.  Factory GasGas rider, Glenn Coldenhoff, had a better start this time and managed to take a few spots during the moto to finish 5th at the checkered flag.

Riders and teams have a much needed week break before the series returns to Italy and the loamy stadium like circuit of Mantova for another triple header on the 27th September.
Images: KTM/GasGas.


Race results:

MXGP - Grand Prix Race 1 – Classification Top 10:
1. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), 35:06.974;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:01.756; 
3. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:12.467;
4. Mitchell Evans (AUS, Honda), +0:15.553;
5. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:19.255;
6. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Husqvarna), +0:19.504;
7. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Yamaha), +0:22.152; 
8. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, GASGAS), +0:25.201;
9. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:40.468;
10. Romain Febvre (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:49.618.

MXGP - Grand Prix Race 2 – Classification Top 10:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 35:15.947; 
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:04.959; 
3. Romain Febvre (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:10.499;
4. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:25.451; 
5. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, GASGAS), +0:34.581;
6. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), +0:47.762
7. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:49.311;
8. Mitchell Evans (AUS, Honda), +0:49.897;
9. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +1:04.063;
10. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Yamaha), +1:07.203.

MXGP - GP Classification Top 10:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 44 points;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 41 p.; 
3. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), 40 p.;
4. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 38 p.;
5. Romain Febvre (FRA, KAW), 31 p.;
6. Mitchell Evans (AUS, HON), 31 p.; 
7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, GAS), 29 p.;
8. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 26 p.;
9. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, YAM), 25 p.;
10. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, HUS), 23 p.

MXGP -Championship – Top 10 Classification:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 285 points;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 278 p.;
3. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 263 p.;
4. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 255 p.; 
5. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), 237 p.;
6. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, HUS), 233 p.; 
7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, GAS), 233 p.;
8. Romain Febvre (FRA, KAW), 203 p.;
9. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 201 p.;
10. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 194 p.