Thor Race Report

Prado podiums in Latvia after tough MXGP debut!

Round 5 and the 3rd and final event of the triple header held in Kegums Latvia has produced some exhilarating racing as the MXGP championship returned to racing after a 5 month hiatus.

Thor’s Ivo Monticelli grabbed the hole-shot in moto 1 while Antonio Cairoli went down in the difficult right-hand hairpin first turn. Monticelli and Prado gave to chase to Tim Gasjer who made a move for the lead in the opening stages of the moto. Glenn Coldenhoff made his way through the pack which was commendable after having damaged his ribs last Wednesday which showed the Dutchman’s tenacity. He was to claw his way to seventh while Cairoli produced and impressive comeback rider to secure 9th position at the checkered flag. MXGP rookie, Jorge Prado claimed a well-deserved 3rd position with a consistent and strong performance.

Antonio Cairoli was determined to set the record straight has he hounded Jeffrey Herlings and Tim Gasjer right from the gate drop. The 9-time world champion shadowed the leaders ready to capitalize on any mistakes while Jorge Prado was not far behind. Technical issues for Gajser would hand Cairoli second spot while Jorge Prado secured his first overall podium in the MXGP class after a tough start to the season which saw the 2 x MX2 world champ laid up with a broken femur and then broken collarbone.  Glenn Coldenhoff once again rode through the pain barrier to claim 6th place at the end of the moto.

Riders and teams are afforded a two-week break before they head to Turkey for round 6 of the series on the 6th of September.
Images: Juan Pablo Acevedo.


Race results:

MXGP - Grand Prix Race 1 – Classification Top 10:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 35:20.589;
2. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Husqvarna), +0:08.779; 
3. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), +0:21.090;
4. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:29.165;
5. Romain Febvre (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:32.391;
6. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:33.535; 
7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, GASGAS), +0:34.644;
8. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:38.291; 
9. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:44.978;
10. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Honda), +0:50.164.

MXGP - Grand Prix Race 2 – Classification Top 10:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 35:26.803; 
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:07.898;
3. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Husqvarna), +0:12.060; 
4. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), +0:23.368;
5. Romain Febvre (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:27.988; 
6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, GASGAS), +0:31.572;
7. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:39.249;
8. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:49.115;
9. Mitchell Evans (AUS, Honda), +0:57.135;
10. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Honda), +1:03.116.

MXGP - GP Classification Top 10:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 43 points;
2. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, HUS), 42 p.; 
3. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), 38 p.;
4. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 34
5. Romain Febvre (FRA, KAW), 32 p.; 
6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, GAS), 29 p.;
7. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 28 p.;
8. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 25 p.;
9. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, HON), 22 p.;
10. Mitchell Evans (AUS, HON), 21 p.

MXGP -Championship – Top 10 Classification:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 213 points;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 167 p.;
3. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, HUS), 163 p.; 
4. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 163 p.;
5. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, GAS), 146 p
6. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 134 p.;
7. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 131 p.;
8. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 129 p.; 
9. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), 120 p.;
10. Romain Febvre (FRA, KAW), 104 p.