Thor Race Report

Thor riders experience tough conditions in MXGP of Valkenswaard!

Constant downpours turned the Valkenswaard Eurocircuit into a sand sludge circuit for round 2 of the FIM MXGP world championship held in the Netherlands.

Nursing a sprained knee, Antonio Cairoli, salvaged vital championship points while riding tentatively in the deep sand ruts. 4th overall was a decent result on the Italian’s scorecard under the circumstances which now places the nine time champ in 3rd in the championship standings. His rookie team-mate, Jorge Prado, continued his return to fitness with an impressive first moto ride after taking the hole-shot to come home in 4th after a steady and consistent ride. A tougher second moto after going down in the first turn kept Prado out of the top ten however, he still managed 9th overall for the GP.

Home GP favourite, Glen Coldenhoff, showed grit and tenacity in an extremely eventful GP. Coldenhoff had to come through the pack in race 1 for 9th but it was his second moto fight that was even more impressive. After tangling with another rider in the opening laps ‘The Hoff” knuckled down and picked off rider after rider in an astounding comeback ride to 7 position.

The 3rd round of the championship will see riders travel to the picturesque circuit of Patagonia in Argentina while round 4 in Trentino has been postponed due to the corona virus.


Race results:

MXGP - Grand Prix Race 1 – Top 10 Classification:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 35:32.235;
2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:21.202;
3. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Husqvarna), +0:44.398;
4. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), +1:07.180;
5. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +1:12.199;
6. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +1:18.522;
7. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +1:43.255;
8. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Honda), +1:52.652;
9. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, GASGAS), +1:53.811;
10. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), +2:12.575;

MXGP - Grand Prix Race 2 – Top 10 Classification:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 34:37.958;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:22.846;
3. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Husqvarna), +1:35.368;
4. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +1:41.290;
5. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +1:50.139;
6. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Honda), -1 lap(s);
7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, GASGAS), -1 lap(s);
8. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), -1 lap(s);
9. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Husqvarna), -1 lap(s);
10. Harri Kullas (EST, Honda), -1 lap(s);

MXGP – Top 10 GP Classification:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 47 points;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 47 p.;
3. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, HUS), 40 p.;
4. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 30 p.;
5. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, HON), 28 p.;
6. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 28 p.;
7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, GAS), 26 p.;
8. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 26 p.;
9. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), 26 p.;
10. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 18 p.

MXGP - Top 10 GP Championship Classification:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 94 points;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 85 p.;
3. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 68 p.;
4. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 60 p.;
5. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 58 p.;
6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, GAS), 56 p.;
7. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, HUS), 53 p.;
8. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), 47 p.;