Thor Race Report

Thor race report: Coldenhoff victorious in Sweden.

Only a week shy of his double MXGP in Imola, Thor’s Glen Coldenhoff, has backed up his achievement with another MXGP victory, this time on the picturesque Uddevalla circuit in Sweden.

As the gate dropped for moto 1, Coldenhoff rocketed into the first turn and emerged second behind Herlings. Gasjer would make his way past but then a forced error would allow Coldenhoff to claim back his second spot. Around the halfway mark, Coldenhoff put a move on Herlings to take the lead. He fended off a last minute challenge from Febvre to take an astounding victory.

A lesser start in moto 2 left Coldenhoff with some work to do. He rounded the first lap in 6th but then quickly established himself to move past Sewer for 5th. With a lap to go Coldenhoff was hounding Jonass in second and with seconds ticking he made a move to claim second and the overall MXGP victory.

Kawasaki Racing Team’s, Tommy Searle once again put in a solid and consistent performance. The Brit’s 8-10 score landed him a commendable 9th overall for the day.

With a week’s rest afforded riders and teams the MXGP series heads to the penultimate round in Turkey on the 7th and 8th September.

Race results:

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:
1. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 34:53.626;
2. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:01.070;
3. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:07.239;
4. Pauls Jonass (LAT, Husqvarna), +0:17.369;
5. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Honda), +0:36.305;
6. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:45.441;
7. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:49.112; 
8. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:53.522;
9. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Yamaha), +0:55.459;
10. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Husqvarna), +0:58.189; 

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 34:44.502; 
2. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:04.820;
3. Pauls Jonass (LAT, Husqvarna), +0:06.741;
4. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:16.320;
5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:18.793;
6. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:29.379;
7. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Honda), +0:33.891;
8. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:36.572;
9. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Yamaha), +0:38.461; 
10. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:42.154; 


MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 47 points;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 45 p.;
3. Pauls Jonass (LAT, HUS), 38 p.;
4. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 30 p.;
5. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, HON), 30 p.;
6. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 28 p.;
7. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 24 p.;
8. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, YAM), 24 p.; 
9. Tommy Searle (GBR, KAW), 24 p.;
10. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 22 p.; 

MXGP ChampionshipTop Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 709 points;
2. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 511 p.;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 468 p.;
4. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 446 p.;
5. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 443 p.;
6. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, HUS), 397 p.;
7. Pauls Jonass (LAT, HUS), 390 p.;
8. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 384 p.;
9. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, HON), 377 p.;
10. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 358 p.;