Thor Race Report

Thor race report: Severe setback for Desalle in Russia.

An action packed weekend at the hillside circuit of St Jean d’Angely in France has seen Thor’s Clement Desalle narrowly miss out on a MXGP overall podium.

Sunny blue skies and warm weather conditions welcomed droves of Russian spectators for round 8 of the FIM Motocross world championships held in Orlyonok, the southern federal state of Russia on the eastern shore of the Black Sea.
Having won there last year, Clement Desalle, was eager to repeat his Russian success, however an unfortunate crash in the first moto delivered a severe blow and fractured fibia and tibia, ruling the Belgian out of the race.
Julien Lieber strung together two strong and impressive motos with a 6-5 score for 6th overall. Pre-race testing certainly helped the Belgian to find that extra advantage.

Glenn Coldenhoff showed flashes of brilliance in moto 2 when he took the holeshot and lead the moto in front of eventual winner Tim Gajser. Coldenhoff fended off all challenges for 7 laps until he had to relinquish his lead. He would finally come home in 10th and together with his 8th in moto 1, the likeable Dutchman landed 9th overall for the GP.

Max Anstie and Ivo Monticelli missed out on overall top 10 placing’s.   The Brit rode a strong first moto to claim 10th spot but a mishap on lap 1 in moto 2 left him with loads of catching up to do. Anstie could only recover to 15th.

Kegums in Latvia is next up on the calendar as there is limited time to recover for teams and riders. The Latvian round will see the series nearing the halfway mark on the 15-16 June.

Race results:

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 34:40.798;
2. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:02.718;
3. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:29.654;
4. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:37.212;
5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:38.625;
6. Julien Lieber (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:41.033;
7. Pauls Jonass (LAT, Husqvarna), +0:42.055;
8. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:43.723;
9. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Husqvarna), +0:44.364;
10. Max Anstie (GBR, KTM), +0:45.964.

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 33:31.603;
2. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:05.014;
3. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:09.910;
4. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:14.130;
5. Julien Lieber (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:15.660;
6. Pauls Jonass (LAT, Husqvarna), +0:18.786;
7. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:20.842;
8. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:21.359;
9. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:23.306;
10. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:23.79.

MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 50 points;
2. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 44 p.;
3. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 36 p.;
4. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 32 p.;
5. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 32 p.;
6. Julien Lieber (BEL, KAW), 31 p.;
7. Pauls Jonass (LAT, HUS), 29 p.;
8. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 27 p.;
9. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 24 p.;
10. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, HUS), 22 p.

MXGP ChampionshipTop Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 351 points;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 338 p.;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 231 p.;
4. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 220 p.;
5. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, HUS), 212 p.;
6. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 208 p.;
7. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 206 p.;
8. Julien Lieber (BEL, KAW), 172 p.;
9. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, HON), 170 p.;
10. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 168 p.