Thor Race Report

Thor race report: Thor Race report: Great racing in St Jean d’Angely.

An action packed weekend at the hillside circuit of St Jean d’Angely in France has seen Thor’s Clement Desalle narrowly miss out on a MXGP overall podium.

Round 7 of the series had a sellout French partisan crowd and racing conditions could not have been better as the gate dropped for the first MXGP moto. Desalle initially rounded the first lap in 8th and pushed hard making some exciting passes throughout the moto. He made a pass for 4th place on the penultimate lap yet had to relinquish the gain when a mistake pushed him back to 6th.   Julien Lieber shadowed Desalle as they progressed through the pack however a mistake mid moto relegated the Belgian to 9th.   Glenn Coldenhoff and Ivo Monticelli both had their work cut out for them having to recover from midpack starts. The two KTM team-mates crossed the line 11th and 12th respectively.

The deciding moto saw Desalle carve his way into 3rd as he trailed the leading duo of Tonus and Febvre. The intense pace had the crowd going nuts as Gajser moved past Desalle on his way to the lead. Desalle maintained his 4th place for 4th overall closing the gap on 3rd in the standings. Lieber kept it on two wheels and was impressive right to the flag to secure 6th place. Coldenhoff’s consistency delivered a solid 7th place while Monticelli completely missed his start in a bizarre gate drop and landed outside of the points.

With a well deserved rest afforded team’s and riders round 8 will take place on the 8-9 June in Orlyonok, Russia.

Race results:

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 34:13.037;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:06.617;
3. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:10.299;
4. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:28.701;
5. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:31.735;
6. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:35.329;
7. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Husqvarna), +0:35.836;
8. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Kawasaki), +0:48.968;
9. Julien Lieber (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:58.570;
10. Tanel Leok (EST, Husqvarna), +0:59.429.

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 34:00.904;
2. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:05.375;
3. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:07.314;
4. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:19.675;
5. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:21.553;
6. Julien Lieber (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:24.454;
7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:26.435;
8. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:27.879;
9. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Honda), +0:53.090;
10. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Yamaha), +0:54.992.

MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 50 points;
2. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 40 p.;
3. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 38 p.;
4. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 33 p.;
5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 31 p.;
6. Julien Lieber (BEL, KAW), 27 p.;
7. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 26 p.;
8. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 24 p.;
9. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, HUS), 24 p.;
10. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 21 p.

MXGP ChampionshipTop Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 311 points;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 301 p.;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 218 p.;
4. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 208 p.;
5. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, HUS), 190 p.;
6. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 184 p.;
7. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 162 p.;
8. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, HON), 156 p.;
9. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 144 p.;
10. Julien Lieber (BEL, KAW), 141 p.