Thor Race Report

Thor race report: Portuguese MXGP thrills crowd for round 6.

Sunny blue skies and perfect track conditions welcomed thousands of Portuguese race fans to round 6 of the FIM Motocross World championship. The Agueda circuit, an hour south of Porto, made for some exhilarating racing and both Kawasaki Racing riders, Julien Lieber and Clement Desalle were in the mix.

Lieber posted an impressive first moto 5th place with Desalle hot on his heels but it was Desalle who shot out the gate in moto 2 and lead the race till the halfway point holding off a barrage of attacks from Antonio Cairoli and Tim Gasjer. In the end, Desalle had to settle for 4th while Lieber came home in 7th.

Standing construct KTM’s Glenn Coldenhoff once again showed his consistency as he went 8-8 for 8th overall in another strong performance. The friendly Dutchman, was part of a train of riders that traded positions throughout the moto’s. Team-mate Max Anstie had less fortune after a crash sent the Brit to the infirmary for stitches in his right arm. Anstie tried to ride but another get off sidelined him for moto 2. Ivo Monticelli missed his usual good starts and had a tough fight on his hands in midpack. 14-16 was the best the stylish Italian could muster.

With no time to rest, the MXGP trucks and trailers head north to St Jean d’Angely in France for a change of underground. The hillside, hard-pack circuit will test man and machine and slightly warmer weather conditions are expected on the 25-26 May.

Race results:

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 34:00.609;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:01.197;
3. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:17.885;
4. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:27.240;
5. Julien Lieber (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:28.880;
6. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:29.847;
7. Pauls Jonass (LAT, Husqvarna), +0:35.562;
8. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:51.205;
9. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:52.970;
10. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Kawasaki), +0:53.969.

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 34:47.988;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:10.604;
3. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:12.909;
4. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:15.819;
5. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:18.856;
6. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:20.225;
7. Pauls Jonass (LAT, Husqvarna), +0:22.115;
8. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:24.630;
9. Julien Lieber (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:27.080;
10. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:30.999.

MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 50 points;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 44 p.;
3. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 40 p.;
4. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 33 p.;
5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 29 p.;
6. Pauls Jonass (LAT, HUS), 28 p.;
7. Julien Lieber (BEL, KAW), 28 p.;
8. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 27 p.;
9. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 26 p.;
10. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 22 p.

MXGP ChampionshipTop Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 285 points;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 251 p.;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 197 p.;
4. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 175 p.;
5. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, HUS), 166 p.;
6. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 153 p.;
7. Pauls Jonass (LAT, HUS), 137 p.;
8. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, HON), 136 p.;
9. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 122 p.;
10. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 120 p.