Thor Race Report

Thor race report: Ivo Monticelli shines on home soil at Italian MXGP.

The third back to back MXGP and round 4 of the FIM motocross world championship has produced a solid result for THOR’s Ivo Monticelli.

The Standing Construct KTM rider hit his marks from Saturday’s qualification race where he ended 4th, placing well for Sunday’s main event.   The gutsy Italian impressed his home crowd with two strong performances and he took advantage of good starts to post a career highlight of 5-6 for 5th overall.   Team-mate Glenn Coldenhoff was able to turn around a tough first moto and grabbed a better start in moto2 to trail Monticellito to the finish line in 7th. Max Anstie had a weekend to forget as the friendly Brit was ruled out of moto 1 with a crash and was placed well in moto 2 when another mistake put him out of the points.

Riding with a wrist and knee injury sustained in Matterly Basin 3 weeks prior, Clement Desalle was riding under damage control. He salvaged valuable championship points with 12th spot in Moto 1, however a first lap crash ruled him out of moto2.   Luckily he now has 4 weeks to recover before round 5 in Mantova on the 12th of May. Julien Lieber could not take advantage of his usual good starts and had to fight through the pack in both moto’s for 12-13 scores.

The MXGP of Lombardia will be the second of 3 GP’s held in Italy with the arena style sand circuit offering great viewing for round 5 of the 18 round series.

Race results:

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:
1 Top Ten: 1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 34:13.822;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:01.081;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:53.919;
4. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +1:00.314;
5. Ivo Monticelli (ITA, KTM), +1:03.786;
6. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Kawasaki), +1:05.635;
7. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +1:06.887;
8. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +1:07.631;
9. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Husqvarna), +1:13.322;
10. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Honda), +1:20.6

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 34:11.454;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:24.305;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:53.333;
4. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:57.384;
5. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Husqvarna), +0:58.712;
6. Ivo Monticelli (ITA, KTM), +1:18.314;
7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +1:18.657;
8. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +1:25.075;
9. Brian Bogers (NED, Honda), +1:31.843;
10. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Kawasaki), +1:36.522.

MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 50 points;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 44 p.;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 40 p.;
4. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 36 p.;
5. Ivo Monticelli (ITA, KTM), 31 p.;
6. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, HUS), 28 p.;
7. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, KAW), 26 p.;
8. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 24 p.;
9. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 21 p.;
10. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 20 p.

MXGP ChampionshipTop Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 191 points;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 175 p.;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 142 p.;
4. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, HUS), 120 p.;
5. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, HON), 113 p.;
6. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 112 p.;
7. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 98 p.;
8. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 88 p.;
9. Julien Lieber (BEL, KAW), 79 p.;
10. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 71 p.