Thor Race Report

Thor Race report: Desalle back on the podium at Swiss MXGP.

Thor’s Clement Desalle has rocketed to his 6th podium of the season, this time at the arena style circuit of Frauenfeld in Switzerland.
The tenacious Belgian, had his starts dialed in all weekend and shot out the gate of moto 1 to challenge Jeffrey Herlings for the lead. The two riders pulled a significant gap on the pack while Desalle shadowed the Dutchman until the checkered flag for second spot. Julien Lieber had less luck when another rider collided with him, forcing him into the pits to repair his damaged motorcycle. He was not able to gain any valuable championship points. Evgeny Bobryshev, still struggling with a knee injury, showed his worth by fighting for a top ten position. The friendly Russian fought his way up to 8th position at the halfway point but was then relegated to 11th by the checkered flag.

Julien Lieber shot out of the gate in moto 2 to grab the hole-shot as team-mate Desalle then quickly took over the lead and controlled the race out front. He lead for 5 laps until Herlings took over. A slight concentration lapse and lack of rhythm lost Desalle 2 more spots however he gained his composure and retained 4th to claim an overall podium 3rd.

Julien Lieber experienced a rollercoaster ride after colliding with Febvre on the opening laps. He had another get off but managed to fight back to 14th place to salvage some championship points. Bobryshev almost mirrored his first moto performance when he pushed his way through to 8th but then lost his momentum to finish a solid 11th for 11th overall.

There will be no time to rest as teams and riders now trek to Bulgaria for round 17 of the series to be held at the magnificent Gorna Rositza Circuit in Sevlievo, located 170 km east of the capital city of Sofia.

Race results:

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 34:48.985;
2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:04.858;
3. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:22.604;
4. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:32.224;
5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:35.436;
6. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), +0:54.059;
7. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Husqvarna), +0:59.626;
8. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +1:03.860;
9. Shaun Simpson (GBR, Yamaha), +1:05.416;
10. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), +1:07.702.

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 34:40.600;
2. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:14.868;
3. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:17.722;
4. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:26.984;
5. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), +0:37.939;
6. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:46.833;
7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:51.700;
8. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), +0:55.465;
9. Shaun Simpson (GBR, Yamaha), +1:04.298;
10. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Kawasaki), +1:09.295.

MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 50 points;
2. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 42 p.;
3. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 40 p.;
4. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 32 p.;
5. Max Anstie (GBR, HUS), 31 p.;
6. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 29 p.;
7. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 28 p.;
8. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), 24 p.;
9. Shaun Simpson (GBR, YAM), 24 p.;
10. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 21 p.

MXGP Championship Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 733 points;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 675 p.;
3. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 543 p.;
4. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 510 p.;
5. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 507 p.;
6. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 455 p.;
7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 420 p.;
8. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 371 p.;
9. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 350 p.;
10. Max Anstie (GBR, HUS), 298 p.