Thor Race Report

THOR RACE REPORT: Desalle resilient in Teutschenthal.

Sunny skies and perfect racing conditions adorned the Talkessel circuit in Teutschenthal, Germany for round 8 of the FIM MXGP World championship.
Bouncing back from a wide gate pick due to a crash in the Saturday qualification race, THOR’s Clement Desalle, recovered well to score two strong moto results to retain his 3rd in the overall standings. In both moto’s, Desalle had to push his way into the top five while fending off an attack by reigning world champion, Antonio Cairoli. Desalle never buckled and scored 5-4 for 4th overall.
Thor’s MXGP rookie, Julien Lieber, stamped his presence with 8th place in moto 1 being part of a train of riders who were only separated by 10 seconds. Moto 2 seemed to be going the same way for Lieber has he passed Coldenhof and Cairoli but he got stuck behind fellow Belgian, Van Horebeek. Van Horebeek then crashed with his bike catapulting into Lieber which took him down. He picked up his machine and managed to recover to 19th to salvage a few vital championship points. Lieber still remains in the top 10 of the standings.
Russian rocket, Evgeny Bobryshev, having won in Teutschenthal a few years ago, showed impressive speed throughout the weekend. He snatched 10th place in moto 1 from Jeremy Seewer on the final lap and then went 1 better in moto 2 to finish 9th for 8th overall.
A week’s break is afforded the teams and riders before they cross the channel for round 9 to be held in Matterly Basin on the 2-3 June.

Race results:

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 34:00.399;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:16.255;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Husqvarna), +0:24.028;
4. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:30.534;
5. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:34.056;
6. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:38.000;
7. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:40.490;
8. Julien Lieber (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:42.772;
9. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:45.918;
10. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Suzuki), +0:53.710.

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 35:12.176;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:28.620;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Husqvarna), +0:32.863;
4. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:48.723;
5. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:58.165;
6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +1:03.226;
7. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +1:10.615;
8. Maximilian Nagl (GER, TM), +1:12.138;
9. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Suzuki), +1:18.087;
10. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +1:18.923.

MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 50 points;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 44 p.;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 40 p.;
4. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 34 p.;
5. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 32 p.;
6. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 31 p.;
7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 27 p.;
8. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, SUZ), 23 p.;
9. Maximilian Nagl (GER, TM), 22 p.;
10. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 21 p.

MXGP Championship Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 386 points;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 338 p.;
3. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 278 p.;
4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 258 p.;
5. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 255 p.;
6. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 221 p.;
7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 207 p.;
8. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 193 p.;
9. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 176 p.;
10. Julien Lieber (BEL, KAW), 149 p.