Thor Race Report


A wet and windy Uddevalla circuit still attracted a great crowd for round 16 of the MXGP series held in Sweden over the weekend. THOR’s Clement Desalle was a few points shy of a podium result with the slippery underground making racing tight and tricky. Desalle’s 4-4 result still keeps him in contention for an overall podium challenge in the championship with 3 rounds to go.

Max Nagl’s Swedish excursion did not have a silver lining as the German battled with bad luck in both moto’s. A broken front break in moto one sidelined the number 12 bike. A gutsy performance in moto 2 after a rider landed on this while in 4th place, Nagl had to remount and fought back to 15th spot.

Brit Max Anstie battled with starts the entire weekend. On a track that was difficult to pass on Anstie could only manage a 13-8 score. He will certainly look forward to the next round in the USA which takes place on 3 September.

Young gun, Mikkel Haarup, secured 3rd overall in Sweden to end his 125 European Championship campaign in 2nd overall. The friendly Dane will progress to the EMX250 class for 2018.

Race results:

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 34:57.413;
2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:09.286;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Husqvarna), +0:12.301;
4. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:17.530;
5. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:19.141;
6. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:20.596;
7. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:22.919;
8. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:25.946;
9. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:27.326;
10. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Suzuki),+0:29.405.

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), 35:40.541;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:04.402;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Husqvarna), +0:13.010;
4. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:16.251;
5. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:18.148;
6. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:21.519;
7. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:35.840;
8. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), +0:38.986;
9. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Suzuki), +0:40.499;
10. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:44.403.3

MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 47 points;
2. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 40 p.;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 40 p.;
4. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 36 p.;
5. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 32 p.;
6. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 29 p.;
7. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 26 p.;
8. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 24 p.;
9. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, SUZ), 23 p.;
10. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 22 p.

MXGP Championship Top Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 631 points;
2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 530 p.;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 526 p.;
4. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 519 p.;
5. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 453 p.;
6. RomainFebvre (FRA, YAM), 441 p.;
7. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 377 p.;
8. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 364 p.;
9. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 352 p.;
10. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 344 p.