THOR Race Report

Nagl returns to action

The GP of Lombardia (ITALY) marked the return to action of Red Bull IceOne Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Max Nagl.

Despite limited training on his Husqvarna FC 450, Nagl showed he’s lost none of the speed that saw him lead the MXGP championship chase up until the GP of Germany. The Red Bull IceOne Husqvarna Factory Racing rider started the weekend on a high note, posting the third fastest time in Saturday’s timed practice, Nagl then went on to win the qualification race.

Nagl lined up for the first moto both hoping for a strong performance but also knowing that his fitness would likely hold him back. Uncharacteristically getting a poor start the Red Bull IceOne Husqvarna Factory Racing rider hit the ground in the first turn before managing to climb to eighth at the chequered flag.

A better start in the second moto saw Nagl holding a top five position. Battling with Evgeny Bobryshev for fourth, a small mistake a few turns before the finish saw Max drop to tenth. Rounding out the GP of Lombardia with an eight place overall result, Nagl managed to collect precious championship points, which bring him closer to a top five finish in the final championship standings.

The GP of Lombardia saw Red Bull IceOne Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Todd Waters battle through a challenging race day. The Australian had to fight his way to an eventual ninth place result after being involved in a first turn pile-up. Together with an eleventh place result in moto two, Waters ended tenth overall for the GP.

Nathan Watson started the weekend posting the second fastest time in Saturday’s timed practise. A first turn fall in the opening moto on Sunday forced Watson to work extremely hard, eventually finishing 14th. The British rider made a positive start to the second moto but following a heavy fall was unable to finish the moto.

Tyla Rattray finished ninth at round fifteen of the FIM World MXGPMotocross Championship at Mantova in Northern Italy, while Steven Frossard was injured in a crash during the first race.

The South African had already shown top ten speed throughout training, but an unfortunate start in the qualification race left him seventeenth on lap one before he surged forward to earn eleventh choice of gate. Initially fourteenth in the opening GP moto he advanced to tenth at the chequered flag and followed this with a strong ride to ninth, just 32 seconds behind the winner, in a closely fought second race. The combined results gave him ninth overall in the GP and he has now advanced to thirteenth in the series standings despite missing several of the earlier rounds because of injury.

The Monster Energy Kawasaki MX2 Racing Team faced a difficult GP after Jordi Tixier was forced to withdraw from the GP with an injury to his right wrist after practice, while Petar Petrov and Thomas Covington, the team's other two riders, were involved in a collision at the start of the qualification race which left each of them with a poor choice of gate even for the GP motos though both had shown goodspeed during practice.

Despite pain in his neck and back Petrov recovered from his twentieth startposition to finish seventh in the first moto and he had quickly taken fifthplace in race two before hitting his head hard as he attempted a pass for fourth. He persevered for twelfth at the finish which gave him seventh on the day; he now holds tenth in the series standings.

Covington had advanced from seventeenth to tenth in the opening GP moto until he crashed and damaged the bike, thus forcing him out of the race, but another strong ride in race two saw him move from fifteenth on lap one to sixth at the finish. He is now fifteenth in the championship standings.

Round 16 takes place on 29-30 August at the famous Assen Road race circuit in the Netherlands.

Race results:


MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:

1. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), 34:31.030;
2. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:04.594;
3. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:07.105;
4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Honda), +0:09.938;
5. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:14.492;
6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, Suzuki), +0:16.210;
7. Dean Ferris (AUS, Husqvarna), +0:22.134;
8. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:28.494;
9. Todd Waters (AUS, Husqvarna), +0:31.739;
10. Tyla Rattray (RSA, Kawasaki), +0:35.189

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:

1. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), 34:43.106;
2. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:07.639;
3. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:09.232;
4. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:11.658;
5. Glenn Coldenhoff(NED, Suzuki), +0:13.769;
6. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Honda), +0:17.029;
7. Christophe Charlier (FRA, Honda), +0:19.019;
8. Dean Ferris (AUS, Husqvarna), +0:22.061;
9. Tyla Rattray (RSA, Kawasaki), +0:32.673;
10. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:33.689

MXGP Overall Top Ten:

1. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 50 points;
2. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 42 p.;
3. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 40 p.;
4. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 36 p.;
5. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HON), 33 p.;
6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, SUZ), 31 p.;
7. Dean Ferris (AUS, HUS), 27 p.;
8. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 24 p.;
9. Tyla Rattray (RSA, KAW), 23 p.;
10. Todd Waters (AUS, HUS), 22 p.

MXGP Championship Top Ten:

1. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 597 points;
2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HON), 496 p.;
3. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 463 p.;
4. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 416 p.;
5. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 392 p.;
6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 384 p.;
7. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 366 p.;
8. Clement Desalle (BEL, SUZ), 331 p.;
9. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, SUZ), 321 p.;
10. Todd Waters (AUS, HUS), 300 p.



MX2 Race 1 Top Ten:

1. Max Anstie (GBR, Kawasaki), 34:33.215;
2. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), +0:03.500;
3. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:04.794;
4. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Yamaha), +0:22.775;
5. Damon Graulus (BEL, Yamaha), +0:26.142;
6. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Yamaha), +0:29.515;
7. Petar Petrov (BUL, Kawasaki), +0:33.737;
8. Brian Hsu (GER, Suzuki), +0:36.881;
9. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Suzuki), +0:39.971;
10. Adam Sterry (GBR, KTM), +0:42.181.

MX2 Race 2 Top Ten:

1. Max Anstie (GBR, Kawasaki), 35:01.640;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:11.000;
3. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), +0:13.851;
4. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Yamaha), +0:14.295;
5. Jens Getteman (BEL, Honda), +0:26.786;
6. Thomas Covington (USA,Kawasaki), +0:30.282;
7. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), +0:32.490;
8. Brent Van doninck (BEL, Yamaha), +0:35.837;
9. Henry Jacobi (GER, KTM), +0:53.920;
10. Ivo Monticelli (ITA, KTM), +0:57.185.

MX2 Overall Top Ten:

1. Max Anstie (GBR, KAW), 50 points;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 42 p.;
3. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), 42 p.;
4. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 33 p.;
5. Valentin Guillod (SUI, YAM), 25 p.;
6. Brent Van doninck (BEL, YAM), 23 p.;
7. Petar Petrov (BUL, KAW), 23 p.;
8. Henry Jacobi (GER, KTM), 20 p.;
9. Damon Graulus (BEL, YAM), 20 p.;
10. Adam Sterry (GBR, KTM), 19 p.

MX2 Championship Top Ten:

1. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), 475 points;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 471 p.;
3. Max Anstie (GBR, KAW), 437 p.;
4. Valentin Guillod (SUI, YAM), 433 p.;
5. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 423 p.;
6. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 409 p.;
7. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KAW), 393 p.;
8. Julien Lieber (BEL, YAM), 356 p.;
9. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 292 p.;
10. Petar Petrov (BUL, KAW), 285 p.