Thor Race Report


Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Max Nagl rounded out his participation in round nine of the Motocross World Championship in Spain with a second place overall MXGP class result. Showing impressive speed around a rutted and challenging track, the German rider is now placed fourth in the championship standings with his gap to the top three reduced to just 21 points.
Working hard to find a good race pace around the slippery Spanish track Nagl’s MXGP teammate Christophe Charlier ended the first moto in 25th position. The Frenchman came back stronger in moto two, racing his FC 450 to 14th position for 18th overall at the GP of Spain.
Clement Desalle of the Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Team raced to third place. The stylish Belgian was making his return to racing after recent injuries and deliberately eased his way back through qualification but he used the power of his KX450F-SR to immediately take over third place in the opening GP moto at the hillside track to finish just eleven seconds behind the winner. After another good start in race two he surrendered a few positionsthrough the first few corners but fought back defiantly to finish the race in sixth position.
Jordi Tixier had a frustrating weekend. Aftertaking eleventh place in qualification he never settled on race day and could only finish fifteenth and thirteenth.
As the series hits the halfway point, riders have little time to rest as they head directly to St Jean d’Angely in France for round 10 next weekend.

Race results:

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 34:19.713;
2. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:07.344;
3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:11.598;
4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Honda), +0:13.207;
5. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:15.021;
6. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:16.983;
7. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Yamaha), +0:18.001;
8. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:18.012;
9. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:38.268;
10. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:40.756.

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 34:15.981;
2. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:03.607;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Honda), +0:06.614;
4. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:12.734;
5. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:18.755;
6. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:32.631;
7. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:39.036;
8. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Yamaha), +0:45.513;
9. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:51.895;
10. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:53.494

MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 50 points;
2. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 44 p.;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HON), 38 p.;
4. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 35 p.;
5. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 31 p.;
6. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 30 p.;
7. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 28 p.;
8. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 27 p.;
9. Valentin Guillod (SUI, YAM), 27 p.;
10. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 21 p.

MXGP Championship Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 385 points;
2. RomainFebvre (FRA, YAM), 361 p.;
3. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 338 p.;
4. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 317 p.;
5. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 295 p.;
6. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 274 p.;
7. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 210 p.;
8. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, SUZ), 204 p.;
9. Valentin Guillod (SUI, YAM), 180 p.;
10. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 156 p.