THOR Race Report

GP14 Lommel

Red Bull IceOne Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Todd Waters put his hard fall at last weekend’s GP of Czech Republic behind him when the Aussie went for it in the opening moto and was rewarded with a strong eighth for his efforts at Round 14 of the FIM MXGP World championships held in Belgium.

With the sandy Lommel track massively physically demanding, Todd knew the second moto would be a case of survival of the fittest. Doing all he could to find the best lines, Todd ended lap one in sixth – the exact position he would end the moto.

Teammate Nathan Watson experienced mixed results in Belgian sand. For Nathan an 11th place result in the first race was disappointingly followed by a disqualification in moto two following an off-track excursion at the start of the race.

Tyla Rattray raced to seventh place for the Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Team in the second moto. The South African, who has bravely shrugged off several injuries this season, showed good speed with top ten times during each of the training sessions and backed this up with tenth place in the Qualifying race but found life more difficult in the first GP moto after a series of support races had dramatically altered track conditions. Starting ninth, he slipped back to twelfth at the finish. A change of bike settings after discussion with the team brought positive results and Tyla took the chequered flag in seventh place after racing in the top ten throughout the moto. He now holds thirteenth place in the championship standings.

Petar Petrov finished third overall for the Monster Energy Kawasaki MX2 Racing Team. The Bulgarian had chased Anstie home for second place in the Qualifying race and held a strong third place throughout the first GP moto. After challenging Anstie strongly in the early laps of race two he settled for a fourth place which would secure the first overall GP podium result of his career, showing great confidence as he rebounded from a last lap slip to secure his place in the record books as the first Bulgarian to mount a GP podium for 30 years. He has now advanced to ninth in the series standings.

Teammate Jordi Tixier had a frustrating weekend to finish ninth overall after finishing the motos seventh and twelfth. The Frenchman held fifth for many laps of the first moto before losing his rhythm to drop back to seventh, while two crashes, one on the opening lap and another on the fifth lap, restricted him to twelfth in race two. He now trails the series leader by 40 points to retain his chances of a successful title defence.

Thomas Covington acquitted himself well in the difficult conditions but a crash in the opening moto after he had advanced from fifteenth to eleventh damaged the bike and restricted the young American to two points. A spectacular ride from an initial fifteenth to finish tenth has lifted him to fourteenth in the series standings.

Round 15 will take place in 2 weeks at the stadium style Mantova circuit in Italy.

Race results:


MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:

1. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 34:36.275;
2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Honda), +0:04.580;
3. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:30.238;
4. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:46.372;
5. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:53.607;
6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, Suzuki), +0:59.721;
7. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +1:15.111;
8. Todd Waters (AUS, Husqvarna), +1:26.047;
9. Gert Krestinov (EST, Honda), +1:36.244;
10. Filip Bengtsson (SWE, Honda), +1:39.797

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:

1. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 35:02.032;
2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Honda), +0:06.005;
3. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:24.685;
4. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:54.696;
5. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +1:22.952;
6. Todd Waters (AUS, Husqvarna), +1:27.898;
7. Tyla Rattray (RSA, Kawasaki), +1:53.573;
8. Dean Ferris (AUS, Husqvarna), +1:58.778;
9. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +2:01.731;
10. Gert Krestinov (EST, Honda), +2:03.900.

MXGP Overall Top Ten:

1. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 50 points;
2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HON), 44 p.;
3. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 40 p.;
4. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 34 p.;
5. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, SUZ), 30 p.;
6. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 30 p.;
7. Todd Waters (AUS, HUS), 28 p.;
8. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, SUZ), 24 p.;
9. Tyla Rattray (RSA, KAW), 23 p.;
10. Gert Krestinov (EST, HON), 23 p.

MXGP Championship Top Ten:

1. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 547 points;
2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HON), 463 p.;
3. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 423 p.;
4. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 416 p.;
5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 360 p.;
6. ShaunSimpson (GBR, KTM), 356 p.;
7. Clement Desalle (BEL, SUZ), 331 p.;
8. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 324 p.;
9. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, SUZ), 290 p.;
10. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, SUZ), 287 p.



MX2 Race 1 Top Ten:

1. Max Anstie (GBR, Kawasaki), 34:55.901;
2. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), +0:24.619;
3. Petar Petrov (BUL, Kawasaki), +0:35.480;
4. Harri Kullas (FIN, Husqvarna), +0:38.503;
5. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:41.961;
6. Julien Lieber (BEL, Yamaha), +0:51.635;
7. Jordi Tixier (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:57.168;
8. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Suzuki), +1:08.248;
9. Brent Van doninck (BEL, Yamaha), +1:20.572;
10. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Yamaha), +1:30.448.

MX2 Race 2 Top Ten:

1. Max Anstie (GBR, Kawasaki), 35:42.426;
2. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), +0:25.396;
3. Julien Lieber (BEL, Yamaha), +0:51.575;
4. Petar Petrov (BUL, Kawasaki), +1:01.671;
5. Harri Kullas (FIN, Husqvarna), +1:04.599;
6. Davy Pootjes (NED, KTM), +1:10.159;
7. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +1:16.493;
8. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Suzuki), +1:29.739;
9. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Yamaha), +1:40.929;
10. Thomas Covington (USA, Kawasaki), +1:49.133.

MX2 Overall Top Ten:

1. Max Anstie (GBR, KAW), 50 points;
2. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), 44 p.;
3. Petar Petrov (BUL, KAW), 38 p.;
4. Julien Lieber (BEL, YAM), 35 p.;
5. Harri Kullas (FIN, HUS), 34 p.;
6. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 30 p.;
7. Jeremy Seewer(SUI, SUZ), 26 p.;
8. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 23 p.;
9. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KAW), 23 p.;
10. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), 18 p.

MX2 Championship Top Ten:

1. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), 433 points;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 429 p.;
3. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 423 p.;
4. Valentin Guillod (SUI, YAM), 408 p.;
5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 395 p.;
6. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KAW), 393 p.;
7. Max Anstie (GBR, KAW), 387 p.;
8. Julien Lieber (BEL, YAM), 340 p.;
9. Petar Petrov (BUL, KAW), 262 p.;
10. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 259 p.