Dakar '15 – Stage 2

Great performance by Jordi Viladoms in the longest stage of the Dakar 2015.

Jordi Viladoms finished in 4th place in the longest and possibly toughest rally special of the Dakar 2015. The Red Bull KTM rider has rocketed up to 4th place in the overall standings after a gruelling 518 km Special under scorching temperatures.

The hard and stony ground marked the start of the stage as the motorcycles departed Villa Carlos Paz at 06.00am. The diversity of the terrain meant that riderscould not lower their guard for 1 second or risk making a major navigation error. Viladoms started in 14th place and increased the pace gradually, making minimal errors and made a spectacular comeback as he crossed the finish line in 4th place with a total time of 5h55m22s. He has jumped ten places to occupy the 4th place in the overall standings.

The third day of the Dakar 2015 will start from the bivouac located in San Juan and will end in Chilecito. The riders will facea stage of 502 kilometers, with 220 Special.

"It has been a physically demanding stage - temperatures are now higher and more than 500 kilometers of the special stage were very long. Although we know that this is an endurance race and a lot can still happen, I'm very happy with the result. We climbed up to the 4th place overall and I have to stay focused and try to maintain a high pace."

Jordi Viladoms


CLASSIFICATION STAGE 2 – Villa Carlos Paz to San Juan ­ 107 km liaison, 518 km special (625 km) - longest timed special of the 2015 edition:
1. Joan Barreda (ESP, Honda): 5h:46m:06s
2. Paulo Gonçalves (POR, Honda): +6m:13s
3. Ruben Faria (POR, KTM): +9m:16s
4. Jordi Viladoms (ESP, KTM): +9m:20s
5. Toby Price (AUS, KTM): +9m:42s
6. Matthias Walkner (Austria, KTM): +11m:25s
7. Helder Rodrigues (POR, Honda): +1m:35s
8. Marc Coma (ESP, KTM): +12m:32s
9. Jeremias Israel Esquerre (CHI, Honda): +15m:49s
10. Juan Pedrero (ESP, Yamaha): +16m:45s

1. Barreda: 7h:06m:44s
2. Goncalves: +4m:37s
3. Faria: +10m:37s
4. Viladoms: +11m:24s
5. Price: +11m:32s
6. Coma: +12m:03s
7. Walkner: +12m:26s
8. Rodrigues: +13m:26s
9. Israel-Esquerre: +16m:24s
10. Pedrero: +19m:34s