Thor Race Report

Cairoli victorious in second leg of Latvian MXGP!

Round 4 of the FIM MX World championship, the second leg of a triple header held in Latvia produced some exciting racing and was one for the history books.

Antonio Cairoli won his 90th overall MXGP by nursing a twisted keen sustained in the first leg a few days prior.  The 9 times world champ improved his starts and managed to win the first moto convincingly after Teammate Jorge Prado was forced into the pits with a damaged front wheel. 
Cairoli grabbed a good start in moto 2 as well and led the opening laps before having to stand down the lead to Herlings and Jasikonis.  With a handful of minutes left on the clock, Herlings would make a mistake however Cairoli could not avoid the Dutchman and also went down.  With the MXGP overall hanging in the balance he quickly remounted to salvage 4th spot and the overall MXGP victory.  Prado was left battling just outside the top 10 for most of the moto and had to settle for 13th.
Thor’s previous MXGP winner, Glenn Coldenhoff had a day he would rather forget.  After fighting to 7th in the first race he went down in the second and retired with a painful wrist.  Further medical examinations will determine if “The Hoff” will be able to race on Sunday again.  Team-mate Monticelli redeemed himself with two good starts in both motos.  His 11-7 score was good enough for 7th overall on a demanding and tricky Kegums circuit.
With only 3 days to rest the final of the triple header will take place on Sunday 16th before riders and teams head back to the mainland.
Images: Juan Pablo Acevedo.


Race results:

MXGP - Grand Prix Race 1 – Classification Top 10:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 34:29.922;
2. Romain Febvre (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:04.620;
3. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:05.673;
4. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:07.124;
5. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Honda), +0:12.248;
6. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:14.327; 
7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, GASGAS), +0:18.408;
8. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Husqvarna), +0:19.625;
9. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:25.257;
10. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), +0:38.414

MXGP - Grand Prix Race 2 – Classification Top 10:
1. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Husqvarna), 34:12.449;
2. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:01.125;
3. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:02.108; 
4. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:21.521;
5. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:25.447;
6. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:30.133; 
7. Ivo Monticelli (ITA, GASGAS), +0:32.726;
8. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:34.095;
9. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, Yamaha), +0:35.204;
10. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:36.397

MXGP - GP Classification Top 10:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 43 points;
2. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 40 p.;
3. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 40 p.;
4. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, HUS), 38 p.;
5. Romain Febvre (FRA, KAW), 32 p.;
6. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 30 p.; 
7. Ivo Monticelli (ITA, GAS), 24 p.;
8. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 23 p.;
9. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, HON), 23 p.;
10. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 21 p.

MXGP -Championship – Top 10 Classification:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 170 points;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 142 p.;
3. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 129 p.;
4. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, HUS), 121 p.;
5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 120 p.; 
6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, GAS), 117 p.;
7. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 110 p.;
8. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 101 p.; 
9. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), 82 p.;
10. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, HON), 73 p.