Thor Race Report


The penultimate round of the FIM MXGP World championship has seen THOR’s MAX Anstie claim another podium in his rookie season at the man-made Assen TT circuit in the Netherlands. The likeable Britt fought hard in moto 1 to come back from a bad start and snatched 3rd place from Romain Febvre on the last lap. An equally impressive second moto again had Anstie coming through to claim 4th and 3rd overall for the GP.

Max Nagl showed that he still has what it takes and after a first moto crash he remounted to 10th place. Rocketing to the holeshot in moto 2 Nagl sustained his speed and endurance to finish in second behind Herlings, for 5th overall.

It was a disastrous day for the Kawasaki Racing Team. Clement Desalle was forced out of the GP with an injury while fighting for 3rd spot in the moto and in the championship. Team-mate Jordi Tixier was also forced out of the GP with broken ribs.

The final round of the series takes place 16-17 September at the MXGP of Pays de Montbéliard in France.

Race results:

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 34:21.318;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:01.010;
3. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), +1:11.012;
4. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +1:11.079;
5. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki),+1:19.644;
6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +1:23.810;
7. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +1:42.530;
8. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Husqvarna), +1:49.273;
9. Tanel Leok (EST, Husqvarna), -1 lap(s);
10. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), -1 lap(s).

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 34:14.288;
2. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:34.469;
3. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:37.286;
4. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), +0:42.378;
5. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:44.058;
6. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:45.593;
7. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +1:06.082;
8. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Husqvarna), +1:17.173;
9. Tanel Leok (EST, Husqvarna), +1:39.157;
10. Harri Kullas (EST, Husqvarna), +1:39.315.

MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 50 points;
2. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 38 p.;
3. Max Anstie (GBR, HUS), 38 p.;
4. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 37 p.;
5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 33 p.;
6. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, SUZ), 30 p.;
7. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 26 p.;
8. Tanel Leok (EST, HUS), 24 p.;
9. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 21 p.;
10. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 21 p.

MXGP Championship Top Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 710 points;
2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 627 p.;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 571 p.;
4. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 544 p.;
5. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 485 p.;
6. RomainFebvre (FRA, YAM), 479 p.;
7. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 423 p.;
8. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 416 p.;
9. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 398 p.;
10. Max Anstie (GBR, HUS), 396 p.