Thor Race Report

THOR RACE REPORT:  Lommel sand grueling challenge for THOR riders

Thor race report: Lommel sand grueling challenge for THOR riders - Haarup claims double win.
Lommel, arguably the world’s most grueling sand track know to man, played host to round 14 of the FIM MXGP series in Belgium.  A new layout which made for great racing had a sellout crowd jam packed almost 5 deep cheering on the main protagonists.
Thor’s Clement Desalle, although not seen as sand specialist, rode 2 consistent motos for a 6-5 score.  The Belgian was up to 3rd place in the moto 2 when a small mistake relegated him to 6th before the finish flag.
Max Nagl is no stranger to the Lommel sandpit.  With his ICE-ONE factory Husqvarna racing team based literally a stone’s throw away from the circuit Nagl would always be a challenger for a podium spot.  He was in the running in the first moto while he ran 4th for opening laps and then had to settle for 5th.  Not getting the start he needed in moto 2, Nagl had to work hard to come through to 9th to secure 6th overall.
Having grown up in the sand most of his racing life, Max Anstie, was keen to show his worth.  A bad start in moto 1 left the Brit with tons of work to do as he had to fight his way through the pack to 14th.  A better start in moto 2 and a gutsy ride placed Anstie 3rd by the end of the relentless 30min+2lap race.
Unfortunately for Jordi Tixier, the Frenchman broke a rib a week prior to the race while training in Lommel and had to sit out the event.  He hopes to return in Switzerland next week for round 15 of the series.
Mikkel Haarup once again pulled a double win out of the bag to claim another EMX125 overall victory.  The Dane is once again in the title hunt with only an 8 points deficit and 3 rounds remaining.  A week prior he also claimed runner-up spot in the 125 World champs held in Estonia.

Race results:

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 35:34.225;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:27.342;
3. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:39.296;
4. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:53.580;
5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:56.056;
6. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +1:00.579;
7. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Husqvarna), +1:02.065;
8. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha),+1:06.221;
9. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +1:08.869;
10. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +1:22.939

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 35:44.270;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:23.346;
3. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), +0:41.147;
4. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:53.174;
5. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:55.569;
6. Gautier Paulin(FRA, Husqvarna), +0:57.337;
7. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +1:00.060;
8. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +1:17.957;
9. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +1:32.207;
10. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +1:43.308.

MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 50 points;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 44 p.;
3. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 38 p.;
4. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 31 p.;
5. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 29 p.;
6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 28 p.;
7. Max Anstie (GBR, HUS), 27 p.;
8. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 27 p.;
9. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 26 p.;
10. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 24 p.

MXGP Championship Top Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 567 points;
2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 468 p.;
3. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 462 p.;
4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 446 p.;
5. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 376 p.;
6. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 365 p.;
7.Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 336 p.;
8. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 320 p.;
9. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 303 p.;
10. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 302 p.