Thor Race Report

Nagl 5th in Agueda - Mikkel Haarup on the podium!

Round 12 of the  FIM MX World championship returned to a renewed Agueda Circuit in Portugal.  Thor’s Max Nagl set himself up for a good result after qualifying second in the Saturday qualification race.  The German’s 4-5 consistent score landed him  5th overall while fighting for a podium spot in both motos.
Clement Desalle had a tough outing on the red Portuguese dirt.  Having won the at the location 3 times before the Monster Energy Kawasaki rider was confident of a good result however a first turn crash in the qualification race would put the Belgian on the back foot as he got bruised in the crash.  Having to dig deep, Desalle soldiered to a 6th in Moto 1 before bad luck struck again in the first turn in Moto 2.  He once again hit the deck and had to remount and fight back to a hard fought 10th position.  Consolation for Desalle was that he now moves back into second in the championship standings.
Young gun, Max Anstie, continued his consistent MXGP rookie season.  Anstie didn’t get the starts he wanted but fought hard in both moto’s to claim 10-8 scores for 9th overall.
Agueda was a weekend to forget for Jordi Tixier.  The friendly Frenchman took a big hit in the second moto over a big table top jump and could not continue the moto.

EMX125 title contender, Mikkel Haarup, took another podium results in his challenge for the European championship.  The likeable Dane, won Moto 1 convincingly but was disappointed with a second Moto 4.  3rd overall put Haarup back on the box while he occupies second in the overall standings.
With 3 weeks to rest, riders will reset and focus on the last leg of the MXGP series with Loket next up on the calendar.

Race results:

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 35:13.457;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:01.280;
3. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Suzuki), +0:29.696;
4. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:35.385;
5. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:43.826;
6. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:46.739;
7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:48.261;
8. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:49.745;
9. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:50.982;
10. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), +1:01.698.

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 35:28.572;
2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:01.768;
3. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Suzuki), +0:38.744;
4. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:44.893;
5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:46.220;
6. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:48.694;
7. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:54.499;
8. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), +0:56.119;
9. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +1:00.122;
10. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +1:01.602.

MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 47 points;
2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 47 p.;
3. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, SUZ), 40 p.;
4. Romain Febvre(FRA, YAM), 34 p.;
5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 34 p.;
6. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 28 p.;
7. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 26 p.;
8. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 26 p.;
9. Max Anstie (GBR, HUS), 24 p.;
10. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 22 p.

MXGP Championship Top Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 478 points;
2. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 387 p.;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 383 p.;
4. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 382 p.;
5. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 310 p.;
6. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 309 p.;
7. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 289 p.;
8. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 267 p.;
9. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 267 p.;
10. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 253 p.