THOR Race Report


Thomas Covington clinched a dramatic victory for the Monster Energy Kawasaki MX2 Racing Team in the penultimate round of the FIM World MX2 Motocross Championship at Leon in Mexico.

The US teenager already showed impressive form during qualification as he charged to third place and he maintained his speed through varying conditions all weekend. The track was very muddy for the first GP moto after overnight rain but Thomas was never ruffled and soon took advantage of an error by the championship leader to move from an initial fifth place to finish a solid fourth in the difficult conditions. An even better start in race two saw Thomas complete the first lap in second place and, after taking the lead on lap two, he kept his nerve to grab the first GP moto win of his career. His 4-1 scoreline was also sufficient to take the overall GP victory and he has nowleapt to twelfth in the series.

Petar Petrov of the Monster Energy Kawasaki MX2 Racing Team had charged from last to tenth in qualification to raise hope of a good GP result but unfortunately he touched with another rider at the first corner of race one and crashed into the deep sticky mud which had been bulldozed off the track. His KX250F was damaged in the incident so he was unable to continue, and medical examination revealed that he had damaged one of the vertebrae in his neck so he did not start race two. Nevertheless Petar remains tenth in the championship standings.


Tyla Rattray took ninth place for the MonsterEnergy Kawasaki Racing Team in the penultimate round of the FIM MXGP Motocross Championship at Leon in central Mexico.

The South African, who will retire from active competition after next weekend's final GP in California, raced to a solid seventh place on a dry track in qualification but never settled on a track made heavy with mud after overnight rain to finish tenth in the first GP moto. Feeling more comfortable in race two after track maintenance had improved conditions for racing, Tyla advanced from an initial eighth to finish seventh and secure ninth overall on the day. He remains thirteenth in the championship standings.

Despite challenging track conditions Red BullIceOne Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Max Nagl delivered a strong performance at the MXGP of Leon, climbing up to fifth position in the championship standings with one race remaining. 
A heavy rainstorm prior to race day in Mexicocompletely changed track conditions at the penultimate round of the 2015 FIM Motocross World Championship. Nagl rode to a strong fourth place finish in the dry conditions of Saturday’s qualifying race, but like all riders then had to deal with track full of mud and ruts during Sunday’s opening moto.

Failing to get a good jump from the start, Nagl found himself sitting 15th at the end of the first lap. Forced to stop for fresh goggles the German soon started to charge towards the front and eventually finished in eighth place. Conditions were drier for the second moto but parts of the track were still extremely slippery. A much better start helped Naglfinish sixth. Getting seventh overall he moved to fifth in the MXGP points standings despite having missed five rounds due to injury.

Starting inside the top 10 in MXGP moto one, Red Bull IceOne Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Todd Waters battled his way up the rankings. Putting in consistent lap times the Australian was running fifth when a spark plug issue temporarily halted his progress. Able to fix the problemWaters charged hard to cross the finish line in 11th. Suffering a mid race crash in the second moto Waters placed 11th to finish 11th overall.

The final round of the FIM MXGP series takes place in Glen Helen, USA on the 19-20 September.

Race results:


MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:

1. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), 36:35.450;
2. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:45.231;
3. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +1:14.599;
4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Honda), +1:22.649;
5. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, Suzuki), +1:26.466;
6. Dean Ferris (AUS, Husqvarna), +2:06.200;
7. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +2:08.975;
8. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +2:20.819;
9. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), -1 lap(s);
10. Tyla Rattray (RSA, Kawasaki), -1 lap(s)

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:

1. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), 35:32.826;
2. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:02.302;
3. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:04.883;
4. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:06.685;
5. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, Suzuki), +0:08.990;
6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:11.136;
7. Tyla Rattray (RSA, Kawasaki), +0:12.221;
8. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), +0:13.728;
9. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Honda), +0:37.447;
10. Dean Ferris(AUS, Husqvarna), +0:39.006;

MXGP Overall Top Ten:

1. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 50 points;
2. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 44 p.;
3.Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 40 p.;
4. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 32 p.;
5. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, SUZ), 32 p.;
6. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HON), 30 p.;
7. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 28 p.;
8. Dean Ferris (AUS, HUS), 26 p.;
9.Tyla Rattray (RSA, KAW), 25 p.;
10. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), 25 p.

MXGP Championship Top Ten:

1. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 688 points;
2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HON), 566 p.;
3. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 539 p.;
4. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 481 p.;
5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 442 p.;
6. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 426 p.;
7. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 416 p.;
8. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, SUZ), 393 p.;
9. Todd Waters (AUS, HUS), 344 p.;
10. Clement Desalle (BEL, SUZ), 331 p.


MX2 Race 1 Top Ten:

1. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), 35:48.318;
2. Max Anstie (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:04.477;
3. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Yamaha), +0:26.170;
4. Thomas Covington (USA, Kawasaki), +0:32.672;
5. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:34.821;
6. Harri Kullas (FIN, Husqvarna), -1 lap(s);
7. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, KTM), -1 lap(s);
8. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Suzuki), -1 lap(s);
9. Brent Van doninck (BEL, Yamaha), -2 lap(s);
10. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Yamaha), -2 lap(s).

MX2 Race 2 Top Ten:

1. Thomas Covington (USA, Kawasaki), 34:34.352;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:06.836;
3. Julien Lieber (BEL, Yamaha), +0:22.502;
4. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Yamaha), +0:24.846;
5. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Yamaha), +0:25.601;
6. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, KTM), +0:45.919;
7. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Suzuki), +1:03.913;
8. Harri Kullas (FIN, Husqvarna), +1:14.447;
9. Ivo Monticelli (ITA, KTM), +1:46.917;
10. Samuele Bernardini (ITA, TM), +2:00.450.

MX2 Overall Top Ten:

1. Thomas Covington (USA, KAW), 43 points;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 38 p.;
3. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 36 p.;
4. PaulsJonass (LAT, KTM), 33 p.;
5. Max Anstie (GBR, KAW), 32 p.;
6. Valentin Guillod (SUI, YAM), 29 p.;
7. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, KTM), 29 p.;
8. Harri Kullas (FIN, HUS), 28 p.;
9. Julien Lieber (BEL, YAM), 27 p.;
10. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 27 p.

MX2 Championship Top Ten:

1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 556 points;
2. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), 538 p.;
3. Max Anstie (GBR, KAW), 506 p.;
4. Valentin Guillod (SUI, YAM), 475 p.;
5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 467 p.;
6. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 423 p.;
7. Julien Lieber (BEL, YAM), 418 p.;
8. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KAW), 393 p.;
9. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 356 p.;
10. Petar Petrov (BUL, KAW), 304 p.