Thor Race Report


The Motocross of Nations held at the historic Maggiora circuit in Italy has seen one of the most intense, nail-biting events with a rainbow of nations doing battle for the coveted Chamberlain Trophy. A sellout crowd with a plethora of crazy MX fans from all over the world supporting their respective countries and riders created an electric atmosphere and it would go down to the wire in one of the closest contested finals in MXON history.
Team USA with Jason Andersen, Cooper Webb and Alex Martin had a nightmare start to the weekend  with their qualification races not going according to plan. Team Germany’ Max Nagl was sidelined when he took a heavy crash on Saturday putting Germany out of the runnings. The Americans did not let the adversity get to them and it was Jason Andersen who backed up Cooper Webb’s first moto 4th with a stunning victory in moto 2, even after he has suffered a broken metatarsal in his foot in Saturday’s qualification race. With Victory secured for Andersen the unimaginable occurred when he opted to roll the finish jump and was landed on by another lapped rider who failed to see him. Andersen was taken to hospital with a concussion and would not be able to take part in the final moto.
That left a ton of pressure on Cooper Webb who would have to battle France, Netherlands and Belgium without his compatriot. Webb did not get the best of starts but he quickly moved his way through the pack on the opening laps and put America into the overall lead with his current placing. With only a few minutes left on the clock he made a mistake on the steep off camber horse shoe turn and went down which would hand the Netherlands the lead. It was France however that managed to pull back a position with Febvre making a pass 20 meters from the finish line to hand the French their thirds consecutive MXON victory. USA would end third.
The motocross of nations moves to Glen Helen, USA next year where team USA will be looking to de throne the French on home-soil.

Race results:

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:
1. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), 34:41.712;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:04.648;
3. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:19.429;
4. Cooper Webb (USA, Yamaha), +0:25.658;
5. Jeremy Van Horebeek(BEL, Yamaha), +0:34.398;
6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:37.475;
7. Todd Waters (AUS, Suzuki), +0:37.958;
8. Kaven Benoit (CAN, KTM), +0:41.284;
9. Alex Martin (USA, Yamaha), +0:50.538;
10. Cody Cooper (NZL, Honda), +0:52.837.

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Jason Anderson (USA, Husqvarna), 34:59.493;
2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:06.109;
3. Gautier Paulin(FRA, Honda), +0:07.356;
4. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Kawasaki), +0:08.861;
5. Dean Ferris (AUS, Yamaha), +0:09.890;
6. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:10.765;
7.Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:11.126;
8. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Suzuki), +0:13.493;
9. Alex Martin (USA, Yamaha), +0:16.116;
10. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Yamaha), +0:30.103.

MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 34:34.924;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:07.624;
3. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:20.781;
4. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:26.248;
5. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:28.215;
6. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:34.054;
7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:42.218;
8. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Kawasaki), +0:44.343;
9. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), +0:45.113;
10. Cooper Webb (USA, Yamaha), +0:46.305

Nations top ten: France, The Netherlands, USA, Belgium, Italy, Switzerland, Great Britain, Australia, Estonia, Canada.