Thor Race Report


Jordi Tixier achieved his best result of the season with a seventhoverall in the Swiss round of the FIM World MXGP Motocross Championship on a brand new track at Frauenfeld, while Clement Desalle scored a top ten result.

Jordi Tixier took an immediate liking to the Swiss track as he posted third place in the first practice session but he found himself in tight traffic throughout the opening GP moto, starting seventh and finishing sixth in a closely-fought race despite setting the second fastest lap time of the race. Race two followed a similar pattern as he advanced from tenth on lap one toseventh at the chequered flag, the combination of the two moto results giving him seventh overall in the GP.

Teammate Clement Desalle set fifth fastest time in both practice sessions and was the early leader of the qualifying race before eventually coming home a safe third to promise much for race day but his starts in the GP motos were not quite as good and Clement had to settle for third in the opening moto after a solid ride from an initial fifth which also took him to second. The Belgian had every prospect of a podium finish but another rider hit his rear wheel on the opening lap of the race and, unable to remount his bike until the entire field had passed, he completed the opening lap twenty-fifth. A further incident with another rider after he had recovered to seventeenth cost him two places again and he had to be satisfied with sixteenth at the close. Clement remains ninth in the championship standings.
Struggling with a finger injury he picked up during the MXGPqualifying race, Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Max Nagl was unable to continue his strong run of form in Switzerland. Spending most of the opening moto in ninth position the German lost a place to Tim Gajser two laps before the end to finish 10th. Getting a poor start in moto two Nagl was 13th at the chequered flag for 12th overall.
Round 16 takes place on the renowned ASSENT TT circuit in the Netherlands on August 28.

Race results:

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 35:08.501;
2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Honda), +0:07.545;
3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:10.443;
4. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:12.257;
5. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Yamaha), +0:19.403;
6. Jordi Tixier (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:23.488;
7. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:25.625;
8. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:28.295;
9. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:31.260;
10. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:31.694.

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 34:24.265;
2. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:11.791;
3. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:20.333;
4. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:22.574;
5. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:23.071;
6. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:24.626;
7. JordiTixier (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:37.348;
8. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:42.562;
9. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:49.442;
10. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:54.840.

MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 41 points;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 37 p.;
3. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 35 p.;
4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HON), 32 p.;
5. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 30 p.;
6. Tommy Searle (GBR, KAW), 29 p.;
7. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KAW), 29 p.;
8.Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 29 p.;
9. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 27 p.;
10. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 25 p.

MXGP Championship Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 644 points;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 545 p.;
3. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 509 p.;
4. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 499 p.;
5. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 472 p.;
6. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 446 p.;
7. Valentin Guillod (SUI, YAM), 308 p.;
8. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 307 p.;
9. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 298 p.;
10. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, SUZ), 279 p.